Krunal Pandya To Captain Baroda's 22-Men Squad In Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy; Yusuf Pathan Dropped

Krunal Pandya To Captain Baroda’s 22-Men Squad In Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy; Yusuf Pathan Dropped

Krunal Pandya India
Krunal Pandya. (Credit: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians all-rounder Krunal Pandya has been appointed as captain of the 22-member Baroda squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, starting January 10. All-rounder Deepak Hooda will serve as the spin-bowling all-rounder’s deputy.

Apart from the duo, veteran opener Kedar Devdhar and right-handed batsman Vishnu Solanki have been included in the squad.

Krunal Pandya, India vs South Africa 2019
Krunal Pandya (Credits – Twitter)

Left-arm pacer Lukman Meriwala will lead the bowling attack while left-arm orthodox Bhargav Bhatt will spearhead the spin bowling attack.

Prabhakar Bairgond has been appointed as the head coach following the original appointee Dave Whatmore’s failure to take up the assignment.

ICC World Cup 2011, Yusuf Pathan
Yusuf Pathan (Credits – Getty Images)

Meanwhile veteran all-rounder Yusuf Pathan has been axed from the 22-men squad for the first time in over a decade. The second-highest run-getter for the two-time champions, Baroda, Yusuf Pathan had done a reasonable job in the last season, having scored 136 runs at an average of 24. However, his average was on the lower side- 116.23- as compared to his career strike-rate of 133.47.

Baroda is currently placed in Elite Group C alongside Maharashtra, Gujarat, Chattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttarakhand. They will play all their games on home turf.

Also Read- Even A Neighbourhood Kid Will Tell You That The Pakistan Coaches Are Providing Wrong Guidance- Mohammad Asif

Baroda’s squad for the 2020/21 Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Krunal Pandya [C], Deepak Hooda, Kedar Devdhar, Ninad Rathwa, Smit Patel, Vishnu Solanki, Abhimanyu Rajput, Dhruv Patel, Atit Sheth, Babasafi Pathan, L Meriwala, Mohit Mongia, Bhanu Pania, Kartik Kakade, Chintal Gandhi, Pradeep Yadav, Soyeb Sopariya, Ansh Patel, Parth Kohli, Bhargav Bhatt, Pratik Ghodadra, Pratyush Kumar.

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.