LSG vs MI: Watch - Ravi Bishnoi nails exceptional direct-hit to remove in-form Tilak Varma

Published - 30 Apr 2024, 09:07 PM | Updated - 30 Apr 2024, 09:08 PM

Ravi Bishnoi removes Tilak Varma
Ravi Bishnoi removes Tilak Varma (PC: X)

The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) spinner Ravi Bishnoi, who is undoubtedly one of the best fielders of the franchise, nailed an incredible direct hit to remove the in-form Mumbai Indians (MI) batter Tilak Varma on Tuesday, April 30, at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow.

Tilak Varma has been the biggest positive for the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the batting department in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Despite the entire team struggling and the speculations of the team being divided into two groups following Hardik Pandya's appointment as captain, Tilak Varma has kept his entire focus on his batting and has scored runs consistently.

In 10 matches, Tilak Varma has scored 343 runs for the franchise at a good average of 42.88 and an amazing strike rate of 153.81. The left-handed batsman has slammed three half-centuries in the competition so far.

Tilak Varma entered the match against LSG with great form as had registered two 60-plus scores in his previous two outings against Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan Royals. However, he wasn't able to continue his brilliant form and took a long walk back to the pavilion after being dismissed run-out for 11-ball 7 against LSG.

On the first ball of the 6th over, Naveen-ul-Haq bowled a full-length delivery to Tilak that clipped his pads. The players went for an instant LBW appeal and the ball rolled away towards Ravi Bishnoi at backward point. The spinner was quick to grab the ball and nailed a sensational direct hit to end Tilak Varma's innings.

Watch - Tilak Varma Gets Run Out, Thanks To Ravi Bishnoi's Direct-hit 

Talking further about Ravi Bishnoi, he was recently dropped from India's ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 squad picked by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee despite being ranked fifth on the ICC Men's T20I Bowling Rankings. India have selected Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal as four spin bowlers in the team.

Earlier, Lucknow Super Giants won the toss and elected to bowl first in the match. At the toss, KL Rahul said that they chose to bowl first because they wanted to put pressure on the MI batters. KL Rahul elaborated:

"We will bowl first. Wicket looks good, want to put their batters under pressure and look to chase it. We'll try to stay as balanced as possible. Need to come out and put up show. We have had a few good victories. 

"Few changes, Quinton misses out. Kulkarni is in the team. Mayank is back as well. He has bowled really well, he has a huge impact. I have been pushing the physios and medical team. Mayank is eager to go. Important that he gets it out of his head that he had an injury."

The toss decision proved to be a great one for the side, as Lucknow Super Giants bowlers did a great job and reduced Mumbai Indians to 27/4 inside 5.2 overs.