MI, Mumbai Indians, IPL 2024, IPL 2024 Auction,
Mumbai Indians (Image Credit: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians (MI) is set to witness a new era in IPL 2024 under new skipper Hardik Pandya. Mumbai Indians grabbed Hardik Pandya from Gujarat Titans through a trade and later made him the skipper replacing Rohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians gave a marvelous performance last season and will aim for a similar show in IPL 2024. During the group stage, the five-time champions stole the 4th spot. Out of 14 games, they won 8 games and lost 6 to capture 16 points.

In the playoffs, the men-in-blue demolished Lucknow Super Giants in the Eliminator match. However, they lost to Gujarat Titans in Qualifier 2 and failed to reach the final. They made a superb comeback after finishing as the worst performer in the 2022 season.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings Want MS Dhoni To Continue As Captain – Reports

Suryakumar Yadav was the most successful batter for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024. The right-handed batter shattered 605 runs with 1 ton and 5 fifties. Ishan Kishan was next on the list with 454 runs in 15 games. Cameron Green, who has been traded from the team, finished in the third spot with 542 runs.

Read More  RCB Women Playing 11 vs Delhi Capitals Women- WPL 2024 Match 7

Youngster Tilak Varma grabbed a lot of limelight last season. The left-handed batter shattered 343 runs in 11 games. He also made his national debut for Team India later. Skipper Rohit Sharma could not perform up to his level, hitting 332 runs in 16 matches.

Among bowlers, veteran spinner Piyush Chawla stole the limelight with his 22 wickets across 16 games. The right-arm spinner finished as the leading wicket-taker for the side. Akash Madhwal was next with 14 scalps in 8 matches.

Also Read: MS Dhoni In Trouble! Former Business Partners File Defamation Case Against Him In Delhi High Court

The young pacer grabbed the attention by driving Mumbai Indians to Qualifier 2 by picking 5 wicket-haul in the Eliminator clash. Jason Behrondorff also equalled for 14 wickets. Ahead of the IPL 2024 auction, MI parted ways with 11 players from their squad.

Some popular names that MI eliminated from the squad were Chris Jordan, Jhye Richardson, Jofra Archer, Riley Meredith, and Tristan Stubbs. They also traded Cameron Green to Royal Challengers Bangalore. The trade helped them capture enough funds to get back Hardik Pandya from Gujarat Titans.

The IPL 2020 champions captured 8 players into their squad during the IPL 2024 auction. They grabbed Gerald Coetzee for Rs. 5 crore, making him their costliest player. They also bought Nuwan Thushara for Rs. 4.80 crores during the auction.

Read More  'Everything is 10x in IPL as compared to other leagues; BBL is like India's SMAT' - Unmukt Chand

Also Read: “Nobody Cares..”- Mohammed Shami On Hardik Pandya Leaving Gujarat Titans For Mumbai Indians

Dilshan Madushanka was another pacer that MI bought by shelling out Rs. 4.60 crore. Mohammad Nabi, Shreyas Gopal, Shivalik Sharma, Anshul Kamboj, and Naman Dhir were other picks for Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians is the joint-most successful team with 5 IPL trophies. The franchise won trophies in the 2013, 2014, 2017, 2019, and 2020 editions. Other than these seasons, the Rohit Sharma & Co. also reached the playoffs in 2011, 2012, 2014, and 2023 seasons.

After finishing in the last spot in the 2022 season, MI made a comeback last season by reaching the playoffs. In the Indian Premier League 2024, they will glance at their sixth title, which will make them the most successful team in IPL history. However, with 10 teams battling in the tournament, it will be a challenging task for Hardik Pandya & Boys.

Also Read: MS Dhoni In Trouble! Former Business Partners File Defamation Case Against Him In Delhi High Court

Mumbai Indians (MI) Full Schedule For IPL 2024

The IPL 2024 schedule is not out yet. The tournament is expected to begin between March 23 to March 28 this year. Since the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will commence on June 1, IPL 2024 is expected to conclude early this year. As a result, it might also start early.

Read More  KL Rahul goes to London for treatment ahead of IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians (MI) Squad

Rohit Sharma, Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Jason Behrendorff, Romario Shepherd, Hardik Pandya, Gerald Coetzee, Dilshan Madushanka, Shreyas Gopal, Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Anshul Kamboj, Mohammad Nabi, Shivalik Sharma.

Players Bought By MI in IPL 2024 Auction

Gerald Coetzee, Nuwan Thushara, Dilshan Madushanka, Mohammad Nabi, Shreyas Gopal, Shivalik Sharma, Anshul Kamboj, Naman Dhir.

Mumbai Indians (MI) Captain and Vice-Captain for IPL 2024

MI has named Hardik Pandya as the skipper for IPL 2024. Hence, he will lead the side in the tournament. Earlier, Rohit Sharma was the captain of the team. Suryakumar Yadav was the vice-captain of the franchise last season.

Mumbai Indians (MI) Best Playing 11 For IPL 2024

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya, Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Jason Behrendorff, Jasprit Bumrah.

Vikas Singh Derek has been working for Cricketaddictor since February 2021. He has written over 12,000 articles for Cricketaddictor. He is a sports writer and journalist with over 5 years of experience...