Luke Wright
Luke Wright

The New Zealand cricket team has a busy schedule coming up and they have decided to expand their current coaching staff with the addition of four new members – Luke Wright, Dion Ebrahim, Dean Brownlie, and Graeme Aldridge.

Wright will be part of the Kiwis’ upcoming tours of Ireland, Scotland, and The Netherlands. He will be working alongside the batting coach Luke Ronchi, and the bowling coach Shane Jurgensen.

A key lesson from last year’s Covid-enforced schedules was the importance of keeping not just our players fresh, but also our staff. We’ve got 14 weeks of non-stop cricket ahead in all three formats and across four countries – along with a T20 World Cup also looming in Australia in October.”

Kane Williamson and Gary Stead
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and head coach Gary Stead. Credits: Twitter

We need to ensure our coaches are at the top of their games throughout that period, and able to create an environment in which the team can continue to improve and thrive,” NZ head coach, Gary Stead mentioned.

“Luke Wright will offer in-depth knowledge of the conditions in the UK” – Gary Stead

Stead observed that each of the new members will have their own way of contributing and Wright is expected to help out with his knowledge of familiar English conditions.

Along with the practicality of having an extra set of hands, it’s also a way of introducing different voices and skills to the group, as well as giving the fourth coaches themselves an opportunity to learn and develop.”

New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

Dion is a promising new head coach on the domestic scene. I’m sure he will get plenty out of touring with the Blackcaps. Luke will offer in-depth knowledge of the conditions in the UK and his vast experiences in T20 cricket all around the world,” Stead further added.

However, the latest members will not be part of New Zealand’s full itinerary which includes the Test series against England and the West Indies.

Also Read – Jason Holder, Shimron Hetmyer Rested As West Indies Announce Squad For ODI Tours To The Netherlands & Pakistan