PAK vs NZ: Pakistan Names 16-Man ODI Squad For New Zealand Series

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Asia Cup 2023
Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). (Photo: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has named a 16-man squad for the forthcoming three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand.

Shadab Khan will miss the series owing to a finger injury acquired during the current Big Bash League (BBL). As a precaution, renowned speedster Shaheen Afridi, who injured his knee in the T20 World Cup final, has been rested once more.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Pakistan vs New Zealand
Pakistan vs New Zealand (PC-AP)

Haris Rauf made his return after recovering from an injury suffered in the first Test against England last month.

Shahid Afridi, Chairman of the PCB interim selection committee, commented on Shadab Khan and Shaheen’s absence:

Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi. Image-Twitter“I am pleased Fakhar Zaman and Haris Rauf have regained complete fitness and though we will miss Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi in this series, their absence will provide Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usama Mir to step up and demonstrate what they are actually capable of.”

Haris Sohail and Shan Masood have been recalled to the 50-over team in the meantime.

The second Test between Pakistan and New Zealand is already underway:

The last time New Zealand played an ODI series in Pakistan was in 2003–04, a series the hosts won 5-0. The two sides’ most recent bilateral series, which took place in 2018–19, concluded in a 1–1 tie.

For the first time since Pakistan defeated New Zealand by six wickets in the 2019 World Cup, ODI matches between the two nations will be played. In 1976–1977, the Blackcaps defeated Pakistan 1-0 in their final ODI series.

Pakistan vs New Zealand 2022, PAK vs NZ 2022
Pakistan vs New Zealand 2022-23. Image Credits: PCB

The first ODI between the two teams will take place on Monday, January 9. The final two ODI matches are scheduled on January 11 and 13, respectively. A five-match T20I series will be played at the same location after the ODI series.

The ongoing second Test is now featuring Pakistan and New Zealand. The opening test was a tie.

Pakistan squad for NZ ODIs: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, and Usama Mir.

Also Read: IND vs SL: “He Has Always Been So Incredible With His Glovework”: Jitesh Sharma On MS Dhoni

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts