Image Credit: Twitter

Pakistan named an 18-player squad for their upcoming 2-match Test series against Sri Lanka away from home, with leg-spinner, Yasir Shah returning to the squad after regaining match fitness.

He had picked up a thumb injury during the National T20 cup last year but has recovered in time to make the tour. It is a spin-favoured squad with call-ups for spin all-rounders, Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha.

We have selected this squad considering the conditions in Sri Lanka and have equipped the team with the best possible resources. r spin department is boosted with the return of Yasir Shah, who proved himself as a match-winner in Sri Lanka on our last tour and Sajid Khan has made the way for him.

Yasir Shah
Yasir Shah. Image-Twitter

The spin department also includes two spin all-rounders in Mohammad Nawaz and Salman Ali Agha and left-arm orthodox Nauman Ali. Salman Ali Agha has shown consistent performances with the bat in the past three seasons and he is a handy off-spin option,” said chief selector Muhammad Wasim.

The squad consists of tried and test personnel and despite underwhelming performances against the Aussies, the core team remains.

Our team has recently put strong performances in Bangladesh and although results against Australia were not ideal we displayed solid cricket and for that reason, we have retained the core to instill consistency and continuity and have trimmed the squad size following the relaxation in Covid-19-induced travel restrictions.”

Read More  NZ vs AUS scorecard, 1st T20I highlights 2024: Mitchell Marsh anchors Australia's brilliant run chase against New Zealand
Pakistan vs Australia
Image Credit: EspnCricinfo

These two matches are extremely crucial for our side as we have World Test Championship points at stake. I wish our boys all the best and I am sure they will make us proud,” he also added.

Pakistan Test squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Also Read – Dinesh Karthik Makes Huge Jump In Latest ICC T20I Rankings; Ishan Kishan Lone Indian In Top 10