SRH vs RR: Watch - Aiden Markram's absolutely brilliant catch to dismiss Sanju Samson in IPL 2024 Qualifier 2

Updated - 24 May 2024, 10:47 PM

Watch: Aiden Markram's brilliant catch to dismiss Sanju Samson
Watch: Aiden Markram's brilliant catch to dismiss Sanju Samson [PC: X]

Aiden Markram took a fine catch to send back in-form Sanju Samson in the ongoing second qualifier of the IPL 2024 between Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Set a target of 176 runs, RR were off to a fine start with Yashasvi Jaiswal coming out all guns blazing. While his opening partner Tom Kohler-Cadmore could not score big and departed for just 10, Jaiswal made sure to give his team a solid start. He smashed 42 runs off 21 balls with the help of four fours and three sixes before being dismissed by Shahbaz Ahmed in the seventh over.

The onus was on Sanju Samson to steady the ship after Jaiswal's departure. However, the RR captain lost his wicket just two runs after Jaiswal was dismissed. SRH captain Pat Cummins decided to give the ball to part-time spinner Abhishek Sharma to bowl the ninth over and the move paid off instantly.

On the third ball of his first over, Sharma sent back Samson to give SRH a huge breakthrough as RR found themselves reeling at 67 for 3. Sharma bowled a length delivery on the stumps and Samson rocked back to play a pull shot. 

He hit the ball towards the right of Aiden Markram at long-on. At first, it looked like the RR captain had placed his shot perfectly and would get four runs. However, Markram ran towards his right and completed a fine catch while making a small leap. Samson departed after scoring 10 runs off 11 balls.

Watch the catch from Aiden Markram:

Talking about the game, RR were on 79 for 5 in the 12th over at the time of writing this report. 12 runs after Samson's dismissal, Shahbaz Ahmed sent back Riyan Parag and Ravichandran Ashwin as well to put SRH in the driver's seat. 

Earlier in the game, a fine fifty from Heinrich Klaasen helped SRH post a competitive total of 175 for 9 in 20 overs. The winner of this game will be taking on Kolkata Knight Riders in the final.


Aiden Markram Sanju Samson IPL 2024