Sri Lanka’s Selection Committee Is About To Be Restructured

Sri Lanka Cricket
Sri Lanka Cricket (Image Credits: Twitter)

A little more than four months after winning the Asia Cup, Sri Lanka is about to restructure their selection committee, and Pramodya Wickramasinghe, the chairman, is likely to be among the first names to go.

Since April 2021, Wickramasinghe has served as the committee’s chairman, leading a youth-driven revamp of Sri Lanka’s limited-overs squads. Senior players like Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, and Dimuth Karunaratne have been dropped from the white-ball teams as a result of this. Wickramasinghe changed Sri Lanka’s selection procedure to be less reactive.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Sri Lanka
Image Credits: Twitter

The national team has experienced varied degrees of success during this time, most notably home ODI series victories over South Africa and Australia and an Asia Cup T20 victory under Mickey Arthur and Chris Silverwood, respectively, as head coach.

Despite this, a lackluster performance at the T20 World Cup and two humiliating white-ball defeats to India at the beginning of 2023 has put the responsibility of the selectors in the public eye.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Mickey Arthur. Photo- Getty
Mickey Arthur. Photo- Getty

A little broader perspective on the situation is necessary to completely understand the current state of Sri Lankan cricket, beginning with the appointment of Roshan Ranasinghe as the new sports minister in May 2022, succeeding Namal Rajapaksa, the nephew of the then-president Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

A severe economic crisis and widespread protests in the nation ultimately prompted Gotabaya to retire, which also sparked Namal’s removal from the position of sports minister.

Former Sri Lankan captain Arjuna Ranatunga to head a 15-member National Sports Council:

The appointment of former Sri Lankan captain Arjuna Ranatunga to lead a 15-member National Sports Council (NSC), entrusted with advising the sports minister on things pertaining to sports in the nation, was one of Ranasinghe’s first acts as the country’s minister of sports.

Arjuna Ranatunga
Arjuna Ranatunga [Image-Getty]
Ranatunga has long been a vociferous critic of the executive committee of Sri Lanka Cricket, led by president Shammi Silva, and he wasted little time in demanding that the selectors be removed in the wake of the team’s poor T20 World Cup performance.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: Cameron Green’s Bowling Workload Are A Source Of Concern For Australia – Andrew McDonald

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts