Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2021 To Begin On July 19; TNCA Gets State Government Nod

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL)
Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL). Image Credits: Twitter

The organizers of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL 2021) have gotten permission from the Tamil Nadu government to conduct the fifth edition of the popular local T20 league. The 5th edition of TNPL will begin from July 19 onwards.

The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) received official written approval for conducting the fifth edition of the TNPL and the official announcement is expected on Friday (July 2). The state government has given permission to stage the 32 matches in three centers, with TNCA told to follow all COVID-19 norms.

TNPL Winners, Madurai Panthers
Madurai Panthers. Image Credits: Twitter

TNPL 5 Final To Be Played On August 15 In Chennai

The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) has set strict COVID-19 protocols for the participants of the tournament whether players or officials. Five RT-PCR tests and five-day quarantine for the players and officials have been set as mandatory. Also, the media won’t be permitted to cover the tournament from the venues, with the final of the TNPL 5 to be played on August 15, as per the Cricbuzz report.

Apart from Chennai, the other two venues are yet to be determined by the TNCA, which will be done in a meeting on Friday. Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Coimbatore, and Salem have also come forward to stage the matches. After the first leg, Chennai will also host the final.

TNPL 2021 Schedule, Start Date, Team List, Squad, Winners List, Team Info, Latest News, And All You Need To Know
TNPL 2021 Schedule, Start Date, Team List, Squad, Winners List, Team Info, Latest News, And All You Need To Know.

TNCA sources have said that the players, officials, and support staff will enter quarantine on July 4 in Chennai. Before entering the isolation, all the players will have to show two negative results in RT-PCR tests and three more during the five-day quarantine. They will be allowed to practice on July 9-10.

Also, as per the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) stipulations, the anti-corruption officials of the BCCI will monitor the games. The eight-team league resumes after a one-year break due to the pandemic situation in the country.

The participating eight teams are- Chepauk Super Gillies, Lyca Kovai Kings, Dindigul Dragons, Trichy Warriors (formerly Ruby Kanchi Warriors), iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (formerly Karaikudi Kaalai), Siechem Madurai Panthers (formerly Madurai Super Giant), Salem Spartans (formerly Tuti Patriots) and Nellai Royal Kings (formerly VB Thiruvallur Veerans).

Also Read: Saba Karim Picks West Indies As The Prime Title Contenders In The T20 World Cup; Reetinder Singh Sodhi Predicts An India-New Zealand Final 

Related Posts