The Hundred Cricket Tournament
The Hundred Cricket Tournament (Image Credit: Twitter)

The England and Wales Cricket Board [ECB] has announced the playing conditions of the upcoming inaugural season of the Hundred.

The inaugural season of the newly formed 100-ball season will kickstart from July 22 with Oval Invincibles taking on Manchester Originals at the Kennington Oval in London.

Hundred, ECB, Captains of Teams in The Hundred Tournament
Captains of Teams in The Hundred Tournament (Image Credit: Twitter)

Ahead of the inaugural season, the ECB has released the playing conditions which sees stark departure from some of the standard cricketing rules.

Here are the playing conditions for the 1st season of the Hundred-

  • It will be over for overs in the Hundred as the ECB has decided that there will be a shift from overs to balls as a measure for innings progression.
  • Two sets of five balls will be bowled from the same end by the same bowler. The umpire will show a white card at the end of the first set of five balls to confirm the fact to players, scorers, broadcasters, and crowds.
  • The toss doesn’t need to place in the middle.
  • The powerplay will comprise of first 25 balls where only two fielders will be allowed outside the 30-yard circle.
  • The fielding team will be allowed to take a two-minute strategic time-out after the completion of the powerplay of 25 balls.
  • In case of caught dismissals, the new batsman will take the strike even if the two batters had crossed each other before the completion of the catch.
  • In case of a tied match, one point will be allotted to each team during the league stage. However, if a game ends in a tie in a knockout game, a ‘Super 5’ will be played.
  • DRS will also be employed for the first time in English domestic matches. The onus of calling the front foot no-ball will lie with the 3rd umpire.
  • An amended DLS method will be applied in rain-affected games.
  • If a team is lagging behind in over-rates then they will need to field one less fielder outside the 30-yard circle after the penalty is incurred by the umpire.

Also Read- Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Announces The Match Officials For The White-Ball Series Against India

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.