WPL 2023: “Women’s Premiere League Set To Be Played From March 4-26 In Mumbai”- IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal

Women's IPL 2023, WIPL
Women’s IPL 2023. Pic Credits: Twitter.

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premiere League (WPL) has started making headlines. The peculiarity of this league is that BCCI has allowed a team to field 5 overseas players in a playing 11. It is believed that this league will not only change the face of the Indian Women’s Cricket Team but of the Women’s Cricket as well.

Indian Women’s Cricket Team has been making huge strides in ICC events but isn’t able to win championships. The Women in Blue haven’t been able to win crunch moments of the game due to which all of their hard work gets spoiled. Last time in the 2020 T20 WC, India suffered a massive defeat in the final against the Aussies.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal on WPL

IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal was having an interaction with PTI and was asked about the schedule of WPL.

 “The Women’s Premier League will be played from March 4 to 26 in Mumbai” said Arun Dhumal.

Exciting WPL on Cards

Arun Dhumal confirmed that the WPL Auction would be held in Mumbai on 13th February. There was a shift in the date due to the ongoing ILT20 League in UAE. This decision was taken to give the franchises ample time for the auction as the ILT20 league is proving to be a cracker. Around 1500 players have registered their names for the league where every team will have a purse of 12 Crores where a team must buy 15 players and a maximum of 18 to form a squad. All the matches would be played at DY Patil Stadium & Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

All eyes would be on the Adani Sports-line who bought the team for a whooping  1.287 crores which is massive. They have named their team’s as Gujarat Giants and have appointed great Cricket stars in the coaching staff in the form of Rachael Haynes. The speciality of this league is that the top team would directly qualify for the final which makes the top spot pretty vital for the teams.

Also Read: Mrugng Monty Desai Named New Nepal Men’s Team Head Coach

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts