Continuing his strong love-affair with the ICC Champions, Indian spinner Ravindra Jadeja, on Thursday (June 15), surpassed former India fast bowler Zaheer Khan to become India’s leading wicket-taker in the tournament. The left-arm spinner now has  16 wickets from nine matches in the tournament, going past Zaheer Khan’s tally of 15 wickets in nine matches. Jadeja achieved the milestone when he dismissed Shakib Al Hasan during India’s win over Bangladesh in the semifinal of the ongoing tournament.

The 28-year old was at his devastating best in the previous edition of the tournament and had played a key role in India’s victorious campaign, taking 12 wickets in only 5 matches. However, the ongoing tournament has not been as successful as the past edition for Jadeja as he has managed to pick up only 4 wickets in as many matches. But the wicket tally, nevertheless, has helped him to enter the record books.

(Reuters Photo)

Jadeja and Zaheer are followed by Harbhajan Singh, Sachin Tendulkar and Ishant Sharma in the top 5 of India’s highest wicket-taker in the Champions Trophy.

Player Matches Wickets
Ravindra Jadeja 9 16
Zaheer Khan 9 15
Harbhajan Singh 13 14
Sachin Tendulkar 16 14
Ishant Sharma 7 13

India hammer Bangladesh to set up a final clash with Pakistan:

The defending champions blew away the Tigers to set up a mouth-watering clash against arch-rivals Pakistan. After inviting Bangladesh to bat first, India got off to a solid start with Bhuvneshwar Kumar sending back Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman cheaply before Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim laid the foundation for a good total by adding 123 runs for the third wicket. However, once Iqbal was dismissed by Kedar Jadhav for 70, Bangladesh’s innings was derailed as they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. They eventually finished their inning on 264 for 7.

In reply, the in-form duo of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave the Men in Blue another flying start by adding 87 runs before Dhawan was dismissed by Mashrafe Mortaza for 46. But that was the time the Bangladeshi players celebrated as Rohit and Virat Kohli took India home by sharing an unbeaten partnership of 178 runs. Rohit scored 123 while Kohli missed his century by just 4 runs.

India will now take on Pakistan in the final on June 18 at The Oval.