Asia Cup 2018: Team India Hotel Shifts Base from Abu Dhabi to Dubai

Asia Cup 2018: Team India Hotel Shifts Base from Abu Dhabi to Dubai

Rohit Sharma. Asia Cup 2018
Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Team India hotel has been shifted to Dubai for the upcoming Asia Cup, where they will play their two group matches. Rohit Sharma’s men were to stay in InterContinental. However, the team will now stay in Grand Hyatt in Dubai.

Meanwhile, the other five teams will be staying in the InterContinental hotel in Abu Dhabi. The Indian team will also be reaching Dubai late as compared to the other teams.

Rohit Sharma. Asia Cup 2018
Rohit Sharma will lead India in the Asia Cup. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

India will play all their matches in Dubai.

The defending champions will begin their campaign against Hong Kong in Dubai on 18 September, thus it makes sense for the team to stay close to the ground. Furthermore, India’s second match against arch-rivals against Pakistan is also at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

In fact, India will not be travelling to Abu Dhabi. If India makes the semi-final stages, which they are expected to do so, their venue will be shifted to Dubai. The final of the tournament will take place in Dubai on 28 September.


Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri
Sunil Gavaskar (Credits – PTI)

Meanwhile, there will be no Harsha Bhogle and Sanjay Manjrekar in the commentary box. Both of these experts are currently part of the Sony Six panel in the ongoing Test series against England.

However, Sunil Gavaskar is going to enlighten the tournament with his deep analysis. Gavaskar will join hands with his former teammate Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. VVS Laxman can be part of the commentary box. If Laxman doesn’t commentate, Zaheer Khan will take a seat in the commentary box.

Must Read | India Squad for Asia Cup 2018.

On the other hand, Rameez Raja and Aameer Sohail will represent Pakistan. In fact, former Australian batsman Dean Jones will part of the panel. Sri Lankan legendary batsman Kumar Sangakkara and Russel Arnold will take part from the Island nation.

Kumar Sangakkara, Virat Kohli, England, India, Ajinkya Rahane
Kumar Sangakkara (credits – Getty)

Meanwhile, Athar Ali Khan will be the commentator from Bangladesh. Interestingly, Brett Lee and his Ashes rival Kevin Pietersen will also add a spark in the commentary box.

“It is the best commentary panel ever for an Asia Cup,” said a BCCI official.

All the Asia Cup matches will be live on Star Sports.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.