Australia, on Friday, announced their playing eleven for the upcoming first One-Day International against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Skipper Aaron Finch confirmed the team for the series-opener while interacting with the media on the eve of the game.

The notable inclusion in the team is fast-bowler Peter Siddle. The right-arm pacer will be playing his first ODI since November 2010. Along with Siddle, the playing eleven has three specialist bowlers and a couple of allrounders. Siddle, Jhye Richardson and Jason Behrendorff will take care of the pace-bowling department. Australia will also have the services of medium-pace-bowling allrounder Marcus Stoinis. Test spin spearhead Nathan Lyon will lead the spin attack while Glenn Maxwell can also make a mark with his part-time off-break.

Australia vs India 2018/19, First ODI: Australia Announce Playing XI For Series-Opener
Credits: Getty

“For Sidds to go away and work on the skills that he’s brought to the table over the last couple of years in Big Bash cricket is outstanding,” Finch said. “He well and truly deserves his spot. Any tour you go on, Sidds is one of the first picked I would think for what he brings to the team and the skill set he brings.

Incumbent Finch will open the innings alongside wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey. The two will be followed by Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh and Peter Handscomb. This will be the first time, Carey will be opening the innings in an ODI. The wicketkeeper, who has opened twice in T20Is, has only batted at No. 5 or lower in his 6-match ODI career.

Speaking about his opening partner, Finch said: “It’s just an opportunity to see Alex play in a position he’s done quite a bit in Big Bash and one-day cricket. It’s a position he’s performed really well with in the last couple of years. He’s been shuffled around the order a bit in the last little while … and he’ll get a good opportunity up there.”

Australia vs India 2018/19, First ODI: Australia Announce Playing XI For Series-Opener
Credits: Twitter

Well, Australia will be looking to bounce back from their poor performance in the recently-concluded Test series. The hosts lost a Test series against India for the first time in their history. India were all over them in the red-ball format and won the series 2-1.

Australia XI for first ODI:

Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (wk) Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff.

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.