The BCCI, on Tuesday (July 24), shifted India A’s upcoming four-day matches against South Africa A from Belgaum to Bengaluru. The board decided to switch venues due to “high probability” of rains.

“The BCCI in accordance with KSCA (Karnataka State Cricket Association) has reached a consensus that the games which were initially meant to be held in Belgaum will now be played in Bengaluru citing high probability of rains in Belgaum,” the BCCI statement said in a statement.

According to the revised schedule, the Board President’s XI will take on the visitors at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium from July 29 to 31. The first four-day match, on the other hand, will also be played at the same venue, starting on August 4. The second four-day match will be played at Alur between August 10 to 13.

KSCA spokesperson, Vinay Mruthanjaya also confirmed the news, telling PTI,

“The match, which was scheduled to be played at Belgaum next week, has been shifted to Bengaluru due to expected inclement weather conditions.”

Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer will lead India A in the upcoming series. The right-hander will also lead the side in a quadrangular series involving the two teams and Australia A. The other team in the series is India B which will be led by Manish Pandey.

The likes of Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal and India regular Yuzvendra Chahal have been included in the India A side.

India A South Africa A
Credits: ESPN

India A squad for four-day games against South Africa A:

Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, A.R. Easwaran, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, K.S. Bharat (WK), Axar Patel (1st four-day game)/S. Nadeem (2nd four-day game), Y. Chahal, Jayant Yadav, R Gurbani, Navdeep Saini, Ankit Rajpoot, Md. Siraj

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.