Brad Hogg, Imad Wasim, Hardik Pandya
Brad Hogg. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Former Australian bowler Brad Hogg is well renowned for being active on Twitter. Now that the veteran is practising social distancing, he’s using the opportunity to engage his followers by doing question-answer sessions on the micro-blogging website.

The 49-year-old has been very active on social media lately, and he recently answered a lot of queries of fans, giving his take on MS Dhoni’s future if the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 gets cancelled. Moreover, Hogg also runs his own YouTube channel, wherein he recently revealed the top three powerplay batsmen in the IPL.

On Sunday though, the former chinaman bowler was asked by a fan who would he pick as the skipper of World ODI XI, and it’s safe to say, that few people could have predicted Hogg’s pick.

Also Read: Hanuma Vihari Sharpens Skills For Tour Down Under

Brad Hogg, Kane Williamson, World ODI XI, Captain, New Zealand
Brad Hogg (Source: Twitter)

Brad Hogg names Kane Williamson as his World ODI XI captain

The former spin wizard opted for New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who led the Kiwis to their second successive ODI World Cup final last year in England.

Hogg wrote, “Kane Williamson. Best ambassador for the game of cricket today.”

However, as soon as the Australian posted this tweet, fans flocked to his post and started questioning how he could have possibly left out Virat Kohli who has a win percentage of 71.83%, or England skipper Eoin Morgan.

Brad Hogg, Kane Williamson, World ODI XI, Captain, New Zealand
Kane Williamson. Credits – Twitter

Williamson though has done well for his side across all formats. Even though New Zealand lost the ODI World Cup final last year, they were applauded for their excellent displays throughout the tournament. He is also heralded by many for his calm demeanour.

The 29-year-old has a win percentage of 55.33%, having won 41 matches and lost 33 as skipper of the Black Caps. Under Williamson’s captaincy, New Zealand also reached the semifinal of T20 World Cup in 2016.

Also Read: 3 Legendary Cricketers Who Could Never Captain Team India