Breaking: Cricket Australia Announces Full Schedule For 2020-21 Season

Breaking: Cricket Australia Announces Full Schedule For 2020-21 Season

Australia (Image Credit: Twitter)

Cricket Australia became the first board to confirm schedule for the 2020-21 season after the novel coronavirus pandemic brought the sport to a standstill. The schedule was announced a day after it was widely reported that India’s tour of Australia will get underway as per its original schedule from December 3 at the Gabba.

Australia’s 2020-21 season will include Tests against India and Afghanistan along with ODIs against India, New Zealand and Zimbabwe and T20 Internationals against India, New Zealand and the West Indies.

David Warner, Steve Smith
David Warner, Steve Smith (Credits: Getty)

Meanwhile, the women’s side are scheduled to play T20s against the New Zealand as well as ODIs against both India and the White Ferns as as they look ahead to the one-day World Cup across the Tasman early next year, Cricket Australia said in a statement.

Cricket Australia working closely with the BCCI to deliver the eagerly anticipated men’s and women’s tours

Cricket Australia chief executive Kevin Roberts has given special weightage to men’s and women’s series’ against India as it will help the board recover from the losses it had incurred due to the halt in matches due to pandemic situation. Roberts has said that his board is closely working with the BCCI to make sure the much-anticipated series’ gets underway as per scheduled.

“While acknowledging the difficulty in navigating a global pandemic, we are nonetheless encouraged by the progress Australia is making in combating the coronavirus and the positive impact that is having on our ability to host an exciting summer of cricket in 2020-21,” Roberts said in a statement.

Tim Paine, Virat Kohli
Tim Paine, Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

“We know that circumstances or events beyond our control could mean that the final schedule potentially may look different to the one released today, but we’ll be doing everything we can to get as much international cricket in as possible this summer.

“We will communicate any changes to the schedule if or when they are required.”

The season calendar unveiled today also confirms the dates for India’s tour of Australia in December. Australia are also scheduled to host India for a three-match T20I series, starting from October 11 in Brisbane.

Here’s the entire Cricket Australia schedule for 2020-21 season (subjected to change):

Gillette Men’s ODI Series v Zimbabwe

First ODI: August 9, TBC

Second ODI: August 12, TBC

Third ODI: August 15, Riverway Stadium, Townsville

CommBank Women’s T20 Series v New Zealand

First T20: September 27, North Sydney Oval

Second T20: September 29, North Sydney Oval

Third T20: October 1, North Sydney Oval

Gillette Men’s T20 INTL Series v West Indies

First T20: October 4, Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Second T20: October 6, Cazaly’s Stadium, Cairns

Third T20: October 9, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

CommBank Women’s ODI Series v New Zealand

First ODI: October 5, Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Second ODI: October 7, Cazaly’s Stadium, Cairns

Third ODI: October 10, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Gillette Men’s T20 INTL Series v India

First T20: October 11, the Gabba, Brisbane

Second T20: October 14, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Third T20: October 17, Adelaide Oval

Men’s T20 World Cup

The men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled from October 18 to November 15. Full details here

Men’s Test v Afghanistan

Only Test: November 21-25, Perth Stadium (day-night)

Men’s Test Series v India

First Test: December 3-7, the Gabba, Brisbane

Second Test: December 11-15, Adelaide Oval (day-night)

Third Test: December 26-30, MCG

Fourth Test: January 3-7, SCG

Gillette Men’s ODI Series v India

First ODI: January 12, Perth Stadium

Second ODI: January 15, MCG

Third ODI: January 17, SCG

CommBank Women’s ODI Series v India

First ODI: January 22, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Second ODI: January 25, Junction Oval, Melbourne

Third ODI: January 28, Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Gillette Men’s ODI Series v New Zealand

First ODI: January 26, Adelaide Oval

Second ODI: January 29, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Third ODI: January 31, Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Gillette Men’s T20 v New Zealand

Only T20: February 2, SCG