England Cricket Board Announces Venues for the 2019 Ashes

ECB Announces Venues for the 2019 Ashes

2019 Ashes
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced distinct venues for the 2019 Ashes series. The gripping five-match Ashes will run from August 1 to September 16. The first Test match will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The venue for the second Test match will be an iconic Lord’s. Meanwhile, the third and the fourth Test match will be played at Headingley and Old Trafford respectively. The fifth and final Test will take place at Kia Oval.

(Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

In fact, before the Ashes series, England will take on Ireland in a four-day Test match at the Home of Cricket, Lord’s. The four-day Test match will be played from July 24.

Meanwhile, England will aim to get back the Urn while playing in their own conditions.

The English team had faced an ignominious defeat of 4-0 when they had toured Australia last summer.

Thus, the Joe Root-led side will aim to counterpunch their arch-rivals. England has dominated the Ashes in the recent past. In fact, the Three Lions have won five of the last seven series.

Alastair Cook
Photo Credit: Getty Images,

Therefore, they would look to make the most of their home conditions during 2019 Ashes edition.

On the other hand, Australia will get back the services of their talismanic batsman Steven Smith and David Warner before the next Ashes series.

Consequently, the Australian team will like to keep their bases covered before the oldest rivalry in the sport will kick off at Edgbaston from August 1, next year.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.