England Announce Squad For Pakistan T20Is

England Announce Squad For Pakistan T20Is

England [Photo-Getty]

England, on Tuesday, named their 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan. The series gets underway on Friday 28 August at Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester. The three-match series will be played behind closed doors, in a bio-secure environment at the Manchester venue.

Both the teams are currently fighting it out in the ongoing three-match Test series. England are leading the series after winning the first match before the rain-affected second one ended in a draw. Both the teams will play one more game before focusing on the T20Is.

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan will lead the side (Credits: Twitter)

England have not included their Test stars in the T20I team. National Selector Ed Smith confirmed the development while announcing the squad while also stating that the squads for the ODI and T20I series against Australia will be named later.

“In this crowded international summer, players who are currently in the Test match bio-secure bubble for the Pakistan Test series are not included in this squad. We want to give multi-format players some opportunity to rest and refresh, while still selecting strong squads for every series. We will announce the squad for the Australia T20 series at a later date,” said National Selector Ed Smith.

The squad for the series is similar to the one that played the one-day series against Ireland recently. The squad, led by Eoin Morgan, includs Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan and Dawid Malan in place of Liam Livingstone, James Vince, Liam Dawson and Reece Topley -from the players who were part of the side that played against Ireland. However, Livingstone and Topley – along with Pat Brown – have been named in the reserves.

England Announce Squad For Pakistan T20Is
David Willey(Credits: BCCI)

Left-arm pacer David Willey has returned to the team too after impressing against Ireland. He last played a T20I in May 2019. The coaching team for the series has been confirmed too.

England assistant coach Graham Thorpe will assume the head coach role for the three-match series. He will be supported by assistant coach Paul Collingwood. Marcus Trescothick has been appointed batting coach while England Young Lions coach Jon Lewis will be the bowling coach.

England squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey.


Pat Brown, Liam Livingstone , Reece Topley.

Also Read: Should BCCI Retire MS Dhoni’s Jersey No. 7? Fans Reveal Their Choice In Online Poll

Also Read: MS Dhoni Wore His Jersey Entire Night After Test retirement, Shed Few Tears, Reveals R Ashwin