Five IPL Teams Who Are Defunct Now; Find Out Why?

Five IPL Teams Who Are Defunct Now; Find Out Why?

IPL 2020, Kiren Rijiju, IPL 2020: 5 Players Whose Careers Might Be Affected If Tournament Gets Cancelled, Franchises, Coronavirus, BCCI, Playoff Fund, IPL 2020 Auction, Unsold Players
IPL Trophy(Credits - Twitter)
Prev1 of 5

Ever since its first season in 2008, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has gone on to become the most-watched T20 league around the world. There have been 12 editions of the cash-rich league in the past while the thirteenth edition has been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The IPL has a huge fan following not just in India, but abroad as well. Due to such a large viewership, various companies in an attempt to buy a franchise in the cash-rich league have come forward. While some are still going strong, others couldn’t last long and the teams are no longer a part of the IPL. Today we will take a look at teams who played in the IPL in the past but had to discontinue participation due to various reasons.

Five IPL teams who are defunct now; Find out Why?

5) Deccan Chargers

IPL, IPL teams, Defunct, IPL teams who are defunct now
Deccan Chargers. Photo Credit: BCCI/IPL.

Champions of the second edition of the IPL, Deccan Chargers were bought by the Chronicle group, and they played in the cash-rich league for five years. They had a plethora of star players such as Andrew Symonds, Adam Gilchrist, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh and various others.

However, in 2013, the Chargers announced that they will not be a part of the eight teams participating in the IPL after some internal issues with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Despite having a star-studded line-up Deccan Chargers couldn’t qualify for the knockout rounds in IPL 2008. They did win the coveted title next year, but in the following years, the Hyderabad based franchise experienced mixed fortunes until they became defunct in 2013.

Prev1 of 5