Glenn Maxwell Returns As Australia Announce Squad For England Tour

Glenn Maxwell Returns As Australia Announce Squad For England Tour

Australia. (Credits: Twitter)

Australia, on Friday, announced their squad for the series in England as they finally gave the green light for the tour. The Aaron Finch-led side will play three T20Is and as many ODIs in England next month. The series starts with the T20I leg in Southampton on September 4 while the third and final ODI will take place in Manchester on September 16.

Last month, Australia had named a 26-man preliminary squad for the tour which has been finalised to 21. The visitors have picked three uncapped players in the form of Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams and Riley Meredith in the squad. The highlight of the squad is the selection of Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Nathan Lyon.

Glenn Maxwell
Glenn Maxwell (Credits – Getty)

Stoinis has not played for Australia since last year’s World Cup while Maxwell has not featured since withdrawing from international cricket for mental health reasons in October. Maxwell was named for Australia’s tour of South Africa last summer but had to withdraw due to elbow surgery.

Just like Stoinis, Lyon had also played his last limited-overs game during last year’s World Cup.Andrew Tye joins Maxwell and Stoinis in returning to the squad. The pacer has not played an international game since 2018.

On the other hand, D’Arcy Short, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser and Ben McDermott have missed out.

“It’s a squad with great depth and a sprinkle of some exceptional young players,” said National Selection Panel chair Trevor Hohns.

“We are very excited by these young players who we believe are all capable of playing a role in the Australian setup in coming years,” he added.

Australia squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Also Read: “They Wrote India As Winners On The Cup”: How Pakistan Overcame Odds To Upset India

Also Read: Australia Confirm Tour Of England Ahead Of IPL 2020