ICC Awards 2017: Here’s the complete list of winners

ICC Awards 2017: Here’s the complete list of winners

ICC Awards 2017, Steven Smith, Virat Kohli, Pakistan, Rashid Khan, Hasan Ali, Yuzvendra Chahal,
ICC Awards 2017: Virat Kohli rules the roost Steven Smith bags Test Cricketer of the Year award. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Following the long list of accolades, the world cricket body International Cricket Council has made it a norm by announcing the ICC Awards 2017 while considering the performances of a calendar year respectively from players and as well as the umpires of the gentleman’s game and dedicate the awards to top-most performers throughout the season.

Interestingly, Team India skipper Virat Kohli had enjoyed the Lions share which simultaneously saw him scooping at least three awards when it was announced by the ICC on January 18 (Thursday) at its Dubai-based headquarters.

Moreover, the list of awards include ICC’s Cricketer of the Year, ICC’s Test Cricket of the Year, ICC’s ODI Player of the Year, ICC’s Emerging Player of the Year which is further followed by ICC’s Associate Nation Player of the Year, ICC’s Team of the Year, ICC’s Umpire of the Year, ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, ICC’s ODI Team of the Year and ICC’s Test Team of the year.

Here’s the detailed list of at least eleven awards announced by the ICC:

ICC Award 2017: Steven Smith – Test Cricketer of the Year:

Oh! Boy, what a year Australian skipper Steven Smith had when it came to the donning of whites for Australia.

The right-handed batsman Smith might be lacking in the technique, but the way he has piled up the miseries for the top-class bowlers has been a treat to watch.

In the recently concluded Magellan Ashes 2017-18 season which saw hosts Australia sealing the series by 4-0 as Smith produced a remarkable series.

However, during the time, Smith scored 1,875 runs at the staggering average of 78.12 in 16 Tests which eventually saw him smashing eight tons and five half-centuries.

ICC Awards 2017: Virat Kohli – ODI Cricketer of the Year:

Known for the box-office show, the sensation batsman Virat Kohli has been bossing the game and in particular, he has been averaging over 52 across formats.

The right-handed modern-day star Kohli has amassed six hundreds in 2017 which further saw him registering the score at the whopping average of 76.84.

The top-order Kohli is averaging at 55.74 in 202 ODIs since his ODI debut in 2008 against Sri Lanka at Dambulla.

ICC Awards 2017: Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli:

Virat Kohli has been turning things into the gold particularly with the willow prowess.

The sensational Delhi-based batsman Kohli has been extraordinary across formats which further saw him been announced as the ICC Cricketer of the Year and has been awarded the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Kohli following his burgeoning success saw himself collecting 2,203 runs at an average of 77.80 which included eight hundreds and he went on to register 1,818 runs in ODI at the astonishing average of 82.83

Moreover, Kohli has 299 runs under his belt so far throughout the season which saw him scoring at the strike-rate of 153.

ICC Awards 2017: Test Team of the Year – Virat Kohli skipper:

The list includes three each from India, South Africa, and Australia respectively which is followed by two from England.

  1. Virat Kohli – India (skipper)
  2. Steven Smith – Australia
  3. David Warner – Australia
  4. Dean Elgar – South Africa
  5. Cheteshwar Pujara – India
  6. Ben Stokes – England (all-rounder)
  7. Quinton de Kock – South Africa (gloveman)
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin – India
  9. Mitchell Starc – Australia
  10. James Anderson – England
  11. Kagiso Rabada – South Africa

 ICC Awards 2017: ODI Team of the Year – Virat Kohli Captain:

Interestingly, the teenage star Rashid Khan has made into the list from Afghanistan for his brilliance in the 2017 season.

However, the list includes as many as three Indian players which are further followed by two each from Pakistan and South Africa and one each has been inducted from New Zealand, England, and Australia.

  1. Virat Kohli – India (skipper)
  2. David Warner – Australia
  3. Rohit Sharma – India
  4. Babar Azam – Pakistan
  5. AB de Villiers – South Africa
  6. Quinton de Kock – South Africa (wk)
  7. Ben Stokes – England (allrounder)
  8. Hasan Ali – Pakistan
  9. Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
  10. Jasprit Bumrah – India
  11. Trent Boult – New Zealand

ICC Awards 2017: Twenty20 Performance of the Year – Yuzvendra Chahal 6 for 25:

The 27-year-old Haryana-based leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been the massive challenge for the batsmen to tackle and he proved it right when he claimed six wickets in his quota of four overs after conceding 25 which helped India to register the series win at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Interestingly, it was his best figures across formats in the top-flight cricket since he burst onto the international scene in June 2016 against Zimbabwe at Harare.

ICC Awards 2017: Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Hasan Ali:

The 23-year-old Punjab-born Pakistan medium pacer had set Pakistan for the glory when he was the chief protagonist with the ball during the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy which further saw him jumping to the number one bowler in the ODI rankings in little over one year after his ODI debut came against Ireland in August 2016 at Dublin

The death-overs specialist Ali, who is known for cunning accuracy bagged 13 wickets during the Champions Trophy which further saw him, been awarded Man of the tournament in the United Kingdom.

So far in 30 ODIs, Ali, bagged 62 wickets at an average of 21.40 which further included five-wicket haul thrice and a four-wicket haul once.

ICC Awards 2017: Associate Cricketer of the Year – Rashid Khan:

Rashid Khan, who has become a household name in his teenage, has further set the world cricket by storm with his remarkable performances with the white-ball.

The Afghan cricketer Rashid has been praised for his superb show in the professional Twenty20 leagues after grabbing the headlines for representing the national team at the highest level.

So far, in 2017, the leg-spinner has bagged 43 ODI wickets out of overall 60 in the recently-completed season.

However, it is also the record from a player who belonged to the Associate Nation well before Afghanistan gained the Test status in the later quarter of 2017.

ICC Awards 2017: Fans’ Moment of the Year – ICC Champion Trophy title win for Pakistan:

As per the voting-based system, ICC revealed Pakistan cricket team had been picked as the fans’ Moment of the Year after lifting their maiden ICC Champions Trophy title under the leadership of Sarfraz Ahmed after thrashing arch-rivals India by 180 runs on June 18, 2017, at the Oval in London.

ICC Awards 2017: Spirit of Cricket Award – Anya Shrubsole:

The chief architect for England to lift the ICC Women’s World Cup title against India, the fast bowler Anya Shrubsole was awarded Spirit of the Cricket Award for the Year 2017.

The 26-year-old medium pacer Shrubsole consoled the 23-year-old South African women team skipper Dane van Niekerk during the riveting semi-final clash of the 2017 Women’s World Cup.

ICC Awards 2017: Marais Erasmus – Umpire of the Year 2017:

South Africa-based umpire Marais Erasmus has won the Umpire of the Year 2017 award as the trophy has been further named after late veteran umpire David Shepherd, who hailed from the United Kingdom.

It’s pertinent to mention that, Erasmus has won the award for second straight time.

The 53-year-old George-born Erasmus has for stood as an official for 74 One-day Internationals, 47 Tests and 26 Twenty20 Internationals.

Follow who wins what: International Cricket Council Awards, 2017

Tahir Ibn Manzoor

Tahir Ibn Manzoor is a staffer at Cricket Addictor, who follows cricket like food and he has a great affection for the long-form journalism. He Tweets @TahirIbnManzoor