Former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting has opined that the controversial Decision Review System decision of the England opener Mark Stone was the right and well-made decision with the help of technology by the umpire upstairs.
Want to be a professional cricketer?
“They’re out on the balcony complaining about the decision… but as it’s turned out, it was the right call,” Ponting told BT Sport.
As the decision has already sparked a debate in the cricket world, the 42-year-old Ponting remarked it ‘silly’ from England players.
“It’s made Joe Root and a lot of the England guys look silly,” Ponting asserted.
After Erasmus was asked to reverse his decision – the other Three Lions players in the dressing room were also seen dejected with the verdict while hoping against hope that the decision should have gone in batsman’s favour.
“Stoneman’s three-quarters of the way off, knowing probably in his own heart of hearts that he’s got a glove on it. Then he’s been told that he has to go back out because they can’t see it,” Ponting explained.
Interestingly, the decision from Aleem had further infuriated England skipper Joe Root, who smashed the door of a change room when the television replays revealed Stoneman has to take a long way back to the pavilion after hard-fought half-century which saw him being peppered with short-pitched deliveries from the go.
“He [Stoneman] thinks he’s out and then suddenly he’s back in. It’s a horrible look for the game,” Ponting added.
Pertinently, on day one of the third Test at WACA in Perth, Stoneman scored 56 off 110 balls. He smashed ten boundaries before being declared out by third umpire Aleem Dar when the incident took place in the 38th over of England’s first innings.
After the lunch break when the on-field umpire Marias Erasmus from South Africa turned down the vociferous appeal by the speedster Mitchell Starc who was equally supported by the close-in fielders.
The paceman Starc bowled a bouncer which rose viciously and seemed to have brushed the glove of Stoneman before the hosts’ fielders pleaded for the caught behind catch.
It was Australian skipper Steven Smith, who was convinced by the bowler Starc and wicket-keeper Paine and the New South Wales-based professional went upstairs without any delay only to yield the desired results.
In the slow-motion video, the replays suggested the ball tickled the right glove of the left-handed batsman, Stoneman, before the gloveman Tim Paine completed a brilliant regulation catch.
“The thing about the decision being made when it was as well (right),” Ricky Ponting remarked.
Another former Australian captain Mark Taylor believes one more angle from Aleem could have made things pretty clear. However, he believes the justice did the rest.
“At the end of the day justice has been done but he didn’t quite get it right. He needed to look at one more angle,” Taylor reiterated on Channel Nine.
Taylor observed, Aleem has had taken his time, and there would have been enough evidence for him as an official to reverse the decision while adding one of the angles revealed ball had brushed the glove before flying to settle in the gloves of Paine.
“I think he overturned without sufficient evidence because the final angle showed the ball did flick the glove was shown after he had overturned the decision,” Taylor concluded.
It is pertinent that, England finished their first innings on 403 in 115.1 overs after riding on the centuries of Dawid Malan and wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow.