Smriti Mandhana, ICC Awards
Smriti Mandhana. (Photo by Jan Kruger-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

India’s T20I vice-captain Smriti Mandhana has been named as the ODI player of the year by the International Cricket Council. The opening southpaw batswoman has also been adjudged as the Women Cricketer of the year, 2018. The stylish batter has been able to make the cut into the ICC ODI team of the year. Furthermore, she also got her place in the ICC T20I team of the year.

The left-handed batswoman had scored 669 runs in 12 ODIs for the Indian team. Furthermore, she amassed 622 runs in 25 T20Is as he scored with a strike rate of 130.67. She went on to score five fifties in the shortest format of the game.

Smriti Mandhana | India A Womens vs Australia A Womens |
Smriti Mandhana. Credit: AP

Mandhana had a fine year.

Thus, the opening batter who has taken giant strides in the recent past had an outstanding year in 2018. The 22-year-old won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Read More: Most Runs in IPL.

“The awards are pretty special because as a player when you score runs, you want the team to win, and then when you get acknowledged for your performances through these awards, it motivates you to work harder and do well for your team.

Mandhana had scored 178 runs in the ICC Twenty-20 World Cup in the West Indies in which India reached the semi-final stage.

Smriti Mandhana, ICC Women World T20
Smriti Mandhana. Credits: ICC

“The century I scored in South Africa (in Kimberley) was quite satisfying and then I had a good home series against Australia and England. A lot of people used to say I do not score that much in India, so I had a point to prove to myself. That was something which really made me better as a player. And then, of course, the first four matches of the ICC Women’s World T20 were quite memorable.”

Meanwhile, Australia’s wicket-keeper batswoman Alyssa Healy was awarded the ICC T20I player of the year. England’s Sophie Ecclestone is named as the ICC Emerging player of the year.

Here is a list of all the winners:

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Smriti Mandhana (India)

ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year – Smriti Mandhana (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year – Alyssa Healy (Australia)

ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year – Sophie Ecclestone (England)

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.