ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 To Have Reserve Day For Knockout Games

ICC Women's World Cup 2021, Reserve Day,
ICC Women’s World Cup 2021. (Photo Credit: Twitter)

Following controversy in the recently-concluded ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, the Apex body has come up with the reserve day option for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup 2021.

The new idea was considered after receiving flak from the cricket fans across the globe for the washed-out clash between India and England women during the semifinal of the grand event.

Last week, England were forced to exit the T20 Women’s World Cup after their semifinal clash was washed out resulting in India, the higher-ranked side in the group stage, progressing to the final.

The ICC had faced a lot of flak for not keeping a reserve day of the recently concluded Women’s T20 World Cup.

Our team is proud to deliver: AndreaNelson

ICC, ICC Women's World Cup 2021, BCCI, ICC, MCC, Olympics
ICC. Photo Credit: ICC.

However, finally, they added an extra day for the tournament in a case of wash out during the knockout stage. Thus, the upcoming ICC tournament of women will be a 31-day event rather than 30-day.

Speaking of the same, CEO Andrea Nelson is excited to see the country get behind the event.

“Our team is proud to be delivering a tournament where Kiwis across the whole country, in each of our six host cities, can really get involved in what is a truly special event. We can’t wait to see the excitement build around New Zealand as we prepare to roll out the welcome mat for the rest of the world,” Nelson said.

Teams which qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2020


Heather Knight, Reserve Day, ICC Women's T20I World Cup, Heather Knight, Poonam Yadav, England, India
England skipper Heather Knight (Source: Twitter)


New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa have already qualified for the World Cup.

The remaining four teams will be established following the completion of the ICC Women’s Championship and a subsequent qualifying tournament in Sri Lanka in July.

The eight-team round-robin format will see all teams play each other, with the top four teams qualifying for semi-finals.

Prize money for the showpiece of women’s international cricket will total NZD 5.5 million, and all matches will be broadcast live to a huge global audience.

Related Posts