Australia Tour Of India 2019/20: Third ODI – Stats Review

India, Australia, stats review
India won the ODI series after beating Australia by seven wickets at Bengaluru (Image Credit: ICC Twitter)

The home team India won their first ODI series in 2020 after beating the visitors Australia in the three-match ODI series by the 2-1 margin. On Sunday (19th January) , they won the third and final match of this series at Bengaluru by seven wickets.

After winning the toss in Bengaluru ODI, the visitors decided to bat first and managed to score the first innings total of 286/9 (50 overs). In reply, the hosts chased down that target easily in 47.3 overs after losing three wickets.

Brief Scores: Australia – 286/9 in 50 overs (Steven Smith 131, Marnus Labuschagne 54; Mohammed Shami 4/63)

India – 289/3 in 47.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 119, Virat Kohli 89; Ashton Agar 1/38)

Result – India won by seven wickets

Here are some of the stats reviews of the match:

Players’ stats


i) Steven Smith scored 131 runs. It was the third highest individual ODI score for an Australian batsman against India in India. The top two records in this list are 156 by George Bailey (at Nagpur on 30th October 2013) and 133* by Mark Waugh (at Pune on 28th March 2001).

India, Australia, stats review
Steven Smith (Image Credits: Twitter)

ii) Adam Zampa has picked up 20 ODI wickets against India. It is the joint most ODI wickets for an Australian spinner against India. The former left-arm chinaman Brad Hogg also took 20 ODI wickets against India.

Adam Zampa (Image Credit: Twitter)



i) The right-arm pacer Mohammed Shami had the bowling figures of 10-0-63-4. It was the third best ODI bowling figures by an Indian pacer against Australia in India. The top two records in this list are 9-0-37-4 and 10-0-46-4 and both were by Ajit Agarkar.

Mohammed Shami
Mohammed Shami (Image Credits: Getty Images)

ii) Playing his 217th ODI innings, Rohit Sharma completed his 9,000 ODI runs. Apart from 20th overall and seventh Indian batsmen, Rohit Sharma became the third-fastest cricketer to complete 9,000 ODI runs. The top two fastest batsmen in this list are Indian cricketer Virat Kohli (194 ODI innings) and former South African cricketer AB de Villiers (205 ODI innings).

Rohit Sharma, India, Australia, stats review
Rohit Sharma (Photo: BCCI)

iii) Rohit Sharma hit his 29th ODI century. He became the fourth most centurion in ODI history. The top three batsmen in this list are Indian Sachin Tendulkar (49 ODI centuries) and Virat Kohli (43 ODI centuries) and Australian (also ICC World XI) Ricky Ponting (30 ODI centuries)

iv) Rohit Sharma scored his eighth ODI century against Australia. It was the joint second most ODI centuries for a batsman against Australia. While the legendary Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar is leading this table with nine ODI centuries against Australia, another Indian star Virat Kohli has hit eight ODI centuries against Australia.

v) Playing his 82nd ODI innings as a captain, Virat Kohli completed his 5,000 ODI runs. He became the eighth captain to score 5,000 ODI runs. Meanwhile, Kohli became the fastest captain to reach the 5,000 ODI runs as a captain. The previous fastest record holder was the former Indian captain MS Dhoni who took 127th ODI innings to achieve this same feat.

India, Australia, stats review
Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)
Related Posts