India Squad For New Zealand ODIs Announced: Shikhar Dhawan To Lead

Shikhar Dhawan, India
Shikhar Dhawan. (Photo: Twitter)

Shikhar Dhawan will be once again leading Team India’s ODI side during the upcoming tour of New Zealand. The BCCI, on Monday (October 31), announced Team India’s squads for the tour that will get underway next month.

The tour is scheduled to start on November 18, just 5 days after the completion of the ongoing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. India will tour New Zealand for a short limited-overs series consisting of three T20Is and as many ODIs.

The tour will start with the T20I leg. The first match is scheduled to be played in Wellington before Mount Maunganui and Napier host the second and third T20I on November 20 and 22 respectively. The ODI series, on the other hand, will start on November 25.

The first match of the series is scheduled to played at the Eden Park in Auckland. The second and third ODIs are scheduled to be played in Hamilton and Christchurch on November 27 and 30 respectively.

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan. (Photo: BCCI)

India squad announced:

Talking about India’s ODI squad, Dhawan will be leading the side. This is the third ODI series in a row for him as a captain. Earlier this year, he led the team against West Indies and South Africa as Rohit was rested for the ODIs. Dhawan led the team to victories in both the series and will be eyeing a similar performance in New Zealand.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has been named as his deputy. The likes of Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav who were part of the ODI series against South Africa have retained their spots in the team.

Deepak Chahar, PC- BCCI
Deepak Chahar, PC- BCCI

Deepak Chahar has also been named in the squad. Chahar was named in the ODI squad for the South Africa series but was later ruled out due to a back injury. Fast-bowler Umran Malik has also earned a recall for the three-match series.

India ODI squad for New Zealand tour:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik.

Also Read: India Squad for Bangladesh ODIs Announced, Rohit Sharma To Lead The Side

Related Posts