IPL 2018: Dean Jones picks his favourite Overseas Player of this season

Published - 27 May 2018, 02:28 PM

Sunil Narine. Photo by: Prashant Bhoot /SPORTZPICS for BCCI.

Table of Contents

Former Australian cricketer turned commentator, Dean Jones picked his favourite overseas player in this edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) ahead of the summit clash.

Meanwhile, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will battle it out against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final clash. Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium will host the final game of the season on May 27 (Sunday).

However, Chennai will have the edge having won all the three previous encounter in this season. Previously, they defeated Hyderabad in the Qualifier 1 to become the first team to enter the finals.

Both the captains have been spot on with their decisions in this edition, however, Jones feels they are two different types of leader. The Australian believes that Dhoni has his own style of the leading the team.

MS (Dhoni) has his own style of captaincy, he waits for the opposition to make mistakes by squeezing the life out of opposing teams. Kane (Williamson) is different because we saw bat-pads, slips and that was what got (Andre) Russell out on Friday,” Jones said to TOI.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Image Courtesy: BCCI

Best foreign cricketer

We are at the fag end of this tournament with only the mega final left. Analysing the performances throughout the season, Jones picked Sunil Narine as the best foreign players. Further, he stated that Williamson will come very close but it is Narine, who has brilliantly.

He also picked Rishabh Pant of the Delhi Daredevils as the best uncapped player in this tournament.

The best foreign player has to be (Sunil) Narine of KKR with Williamson coming close. The best-uncapped players for me will be Rishabh Pant of the Daredevils. Rashid has been up and down but if you want someone to change momentum of the game, it’s Rashid who has been up there,” he concluded.

Also read: Twitter reacts as Pakistan bowlers let England loose



Indian Premier League 2018 Kane Williamson MS Dhoni Rishabh Pant