Delhi Daredevils
Delhi Daredevils

IPL franchise, Delhi Daredevils, will announce their captain for the upcoming season tomorrow (March 7).

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

The news was made official by the franchise itself, as Gautam Gambhir looks all set to be named as the captain officially.

Still, looking at DD’s squad, a few names crop up who could be candidates for the job.

Rishabh Pant, T20, Hundred, Fastest ton, Feroz Shah Kotla, Himachal Pradesh.
Rishabh Pant is a strong candidate to be appointed as Delhi Daredevils captain. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell and Amit Mishra are the potential candidates for the job apart from Gambhir.

Talking of Rishabh first, he had led Delhi in Ranji Trophy this season when Ishant Sharma was absent. He led the side to the finals, but Delhi failed to end the tournament as the winner.

He was later removed as the captain, as captaincy had an impact on his batting, as per the selectors.

Iyer, the second name of the list, is currently leading India B in the Deodhar Trophy. He had also led India A against New Zealand A last year.

Morris, one of the three retained players by the franchise, can be someone who can be looked in as the captain. If he gets appointed, he would make his captaincy debut in the T20 league.

IPL 2018: Delhi Daredevils to Name Captain for Upcoming Season on Wednesday
Glenn Maxwell was the captain of Kings XI Punjab in last season. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Coming to Maxwell, he was the captain of Kings XI Punjab in the last season.

The side came close to qualifying for the next round but could not finish the race, as it lost the last league stage game.

Virender Sehwag, the Mentor of Kings XI Punjab, later blamed he inability of the foreign players to deliver for team’s failure in the tournament.

The last candidate on the list is Amit Mishra, a veteran of this T20 league. He had played 126 IPL games in which he had 134 wickets.

He is associated with the team from past couple of seasons, and the franchise bought him back for Rs 4 Crore in the auction.

He is captain of Haryana in domestic cricket and is a strong contender for the job in DD as well.

Gautam Gambhir looks all set to be named as the captain officially until and unless Delhi Daredevils decides to make an out of the box decision.

He had led this franchise in the past, before being released in 2011.

Squad: Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammad Shami, Gautam Gambhir, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Daniel Christian, Jason Roy, Naman Ojha, Prithvi Shaw, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Avesh Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalra, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sayan Ghosh.

Here is the news feed –

Sreenath Arvind retires from domestic cricket

Steve Waugh praises Virat Kohli for his character