Ahead of the Indian Premier League 2018, Chennai Super Kings went through a lot of criticism for picking the 30+ cricketers in the side. However, MS Dhoni’s men reverted brilliantly by bagging the championship title in the comeback to the tournament. Meanwhile, they are all set to start their preparation camp for IPL 2019 on March 16th.

The domestic cricketers have already joined the camp on Wednesday. They started with the fitness session and also had a couple of net sessions. The local players and the domestic players, who are away from the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy have taken a part in the practice session.

Defending champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will begin full-fledged preparations for the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League at the MA Chidambaram stadium from March 16, a senior official of the franchise said.

IPL 2019 schedule
CSK is the defending champions of IPL 2019. (Credits – BCCI)

All the international players including Mahendra Singh Dhoni will join the camp from March 16th. Meanwhile, the leg spinner  Karn Sharma, N Jagadeesan, K M Asif and Chaitanya Bishnoi, among others, took part in a practice session.

I would like to thank MS Dhoni and management – Karn Sharma

Meanwhile, the leg-spinner quoted that he is thankful to MS Dhoni and the team management for retaining him. Further, he went on to add saying that it feels very good for him to stay in Chennai.

“Feels great to be in Chennai,” Karn Sharma was quoted as saying on the CSK website. I would like to thank the CSK management and Mahi Bhai (skipper MS Dhoni) for retaining me,” he said.

Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2019,, MS Dhoni
Credits – Twitter

Well, having a preparation camp has always been a norm for every franchise. The defending champions Chennai Super Kings got a lot of quality in their side to make it special once again in the upcoming Indian Premier League.

Chennai Super Kings squad:

Retained players: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, Faf du Plessis, M Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Billings, Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, N Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi,

Released players: Mark Wood, Kanishk Seth, Kshitiz Sharma

Players added:

Mohit Sharma – Rs 5 crore

Ruturaj Gaikwad – Rs 20 lakh