IPL 2020: Daniel Sams Replaces Jason Roy In Delhi Capitals Squad

IPL 2020: Daniel Sams Replaces Jason Roy In Delhi Capitals Squad

Daniel Sams
Daniel Sams (Credits: Twitter)

Even before the start of this year’s Indian Premier League, Delhi Capitals have suffered a blow with their English recruit Jason Roy pulling out of the tournament. The development comes just hours after ECB announced that the batsman is out of the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan due to a side strain.

England opener Jason Roy is understood to have opted out of the 2020 IPL. Roy, who represents Delhi Capitals, ESPNcricinfo has learned, will be replaced by Australian left-arm fast bowler Daniel Sams. The development came on the back of ECB announcing on Thursday that Roy had been ruled out of the T20I series against Pakistan due to a side strain he picked up this week.

While none of the concerned parties have confirmed the news yet, Jason Roy looks set to skip the upcoming IPL. In doing so, he has become the second England player after Chris Woakes to pull out of the competition. Incidentally, Woakes was also set to play for Delhi Capitals and was recently replaced by South Africa’s Anrich Nortje.

With the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane in the top-order, Delhi Capitals won’t miss Jason Roy much. The England star had previously played for the side in 2018. After playing for now-defunct Gujarat Lions in 2017, he played five matches for Delhi in 2018, scoring 120 runs with 91 of those runs coming in his first innings of the tournament.

Jason Roy
Jason Roy. Photo by: Deepak Malik / IPL/ SPORTZPICS

Jason Roy’s replacement:

Australia’s Daniel Sams has reportedly replaced Jason Roy in the Delhi Capitals squad. Daniel Sams will be playing in the IPL for the first time. The fast-bowler caught the attention when he impressed for Sydney Thunder at the 2019-20 Big Bash League where he finished as the tournament’s highest wicket-taker.

The performance has helped him earn his maiden Australia call-up for the upcoming limited-overs tour of England in September. The tour, comprising three T20Is and three ODIs, will be played between September 4 and September 16, with the IPL starting three days later in the UAE.

Also Read: Delhi Capitals’ Jason Roy Opts Out Of IPL 2020: Report

Also Read:  Ajinkya Rahane Focussed On Playing ODI Cricket Again