SRH beat DC [Photo-IPL.BCCI]

A commanding performance by SunRisers Hyderabad [SRH] against the Delhi Capitals [DC] in Dubai on Tuesday has helped the latter to stay afloat in the playoffs race besides consigning the former table-toppers to their third successive defeat in the tournament.

Chasing 219, the Delhi Capitals got off to the worst possible start as they lost the inform Shikhar Dhawan and Marcus Stoinis within the first two overs.

While Dhawan perished against Sandeep Sharma after the southpaw mistimed the lofted drive straight to David Warner at wide long-off, Marcus Stoinis, after having stroked a sumptuous flick over mid-wicket, suffered the same fate against Shahbaz Nadeem.

Rashid Khan [Photo-BCCI/IPL]s
Shimron Hetmyer and Ajinkya Rahane stroked some lusty blows to take the total to 2-54 after six overs but DC continued to lose wickets as Rashid Khan dismissed both of them in the 7th over to further beg them back. Rashid Khan and Vijay Shankar, with his change of pace, continued to pile on the pressure on the duo of Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer.

Iyer, after having struggled to a 12-ball 7, eventually perished against Vijay Shankar while Axar Patel holed out to King Rashid at deep mid-wicket leaving DC further down in the dumps at 6-83. Rashid finished with barely believable figures of 3-7 in four overs.

T Natarajan knocked over Kagiso Rabada while Sandeep Sharma dismissed Rishabh Pant to leave DC eight down. Tushar Deshpande [20 off 9 balls[ stroked some lusty blows in the end against Sandeep Sharma and T Natarajan before the latter finally closed off the proceedings by dismissing Nortje to help SRH notch up an 88-run-win.


SRH pummelled DC to the tune of 2-218 thanks to the Saha-Warner onslaught

Earlier, SunRisers Hyderabad made a tactical punt by dropping Jonny Bairstow and slotting in Wriddhiman Shah at the opening slot. And, while many fans were lambasting the move as Saha strolled out to bat with the SRH skipper, that move proved to be a masterstroke, one that helped the Orange Army to knock the stuffing out of the DC bowling attack.

David Warner and Wridhimann Saha [Photo- BCCI/IPL]
Saha (87 off 45 balls) and Warner came out with clear intent and it was pretty evident from the very first over the innings. The duo brought up their 50-run-stand in just the 5th over before Warner laid into Kagiso Rabada, smoking him for four 4s and a six to not only bring up his 50 on his birthday but also ensure that SRH posted the highest total by a team in the powerplay this season – 77.

The duo soon brought up their 100-run-stand before Warner (66 off 34 balls) was eventually dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin with a clever change of the pace in the 10th over.

But his dismissal did not have any bearing on the rampaging Saha, who continued to throw caution to the wounds despite being injured. Saha brought up his 50 in just 27 balls with a cheeky pull behind square before he proceeded to lay into Axar Patel in the next over courtesy a slog sweep and a sumptuous cut for a four and six.

Wriddhiman Saha [Photo-BCCI/IPL]
Even Kagiso Rabada, who went wicketless for the first time since 2017, wasn’t spared S Saha smoked him for six in the next over. Saha scored his last 37 runs in a mere 18 balls before he was eventually dismissed by Anrich Nortje after he finally mistimed one straight to Iyer at mid-off.

Manish Pandey’s unbeaten 31-ball 44 ensured that SRH eventually ended up with the highest total registered by a side in Dubai- 2-218 in 20 overs.


Here’s how IPL 2020 points table is looking like after SRH’s win over DC-

IPL 2020 Points Table: SRH Move To The 6th Spot After Mauling DC By 88 Runs; DC Slip To The 3rd Spot

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.