MS Dhoni To Get Permanent Seat At Wankhede Stadium

MS Dhoni Likely To Get Permanent Seat At Wankhede Stadium

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Credits: Twitter)

Former India skipper MS Dhoni is likely to be honoured with a permanent seat at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The legendary cricketer brought down curtains on his illustrious international career on Saturday (August 15). With the decision, his 16-year association with Team India.

MS Dhoni has retired from international cricket as India’s most decorated wicketkeeper-batsman, finisher and captain. Unsurprisingly, tributes have been flowing in from all quarters after he hanged his boots. And Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has also decided to do its bit by giving him a permanent seat at the Wankhede.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni [Photo-Twitter]
MS Dhoni’s seat will be at the exact place where he hit the winning six off Nuwan Kulasekara in the 2011 World Cup final. Ajinkya Naik,  MCA’s apex council member, wrote a letter with the proposal, according to Indian Express.

“As an act of gratitude and tribute to Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s immense contribution to Indian cricket, the MCA can devote a permanent seat on his name at the stand where his famous World Cup-winning six had landed. We can find out the area where the ball landed – and which seat it was flying to – after Dhoni smashed it to win the 2011 World Cup,” Naik’s letter read.

“We can paint and decorate the seat in a unique way to celebrate Dhoni’s association with historical Wankhede Stadium in Indian cricket history. The seat could also be used as a major tourist attraction, like a paid tour of the stadium perhaps.

“It will allow the fans to relive the most glorious moment in Indian cricket and it will be part of MCA’s heritage. We can have a plaque on that seat with some special text to honour that moment,” the letter added.

The MCA Council is scheduled to meet on Tuesday, August 18 where the idea to dedicate a seat to MS Dhoni will be discussed. The Wankhede Stadium has names of a number of renowned cricketers associated with it. The likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Vijay Merchant and Sunil Gavaskar have stands by their names in the stadium while the likes of Polly Umrigar and Vinoo Mankad have gates named after them.

Also Read: Ashish Nehra Reckons Rishabh Pant Has A More Natural Talent Than MS Dhoni Had

Also Read: IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals Sign Up South Africa Star To Replace Chris Woakes