NZ vs SL: Sri Lanka Announce 18-Man Squad For White-Ball Series Against New Zealand

Updated - 17 Mar 2023, 08:32 PM

Sri Lanka
Image Credits: Twitter

The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee recently announced two 18-member squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against New Zealand. The ODI series, in particular, holds immense significance for the Dasun Shanaka-led side as it is a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, and the outcome of these matches will directly impact their chances of qualifying for the coveted ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

Currently, the Sri Lankan cricket team are placed at the 10th spot in the Super League table with 77 points. To secure a direct qualification for the Cricket World Cup 2023, the team will need to significantly improve their ranking by gaining maximum points from the upcoming series against New Zealand.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

The Sri Lankan cricket team have been preparing rigorously to face the Kiwis and is confident about their chances of performing well in the series. The team’s management and selectors have made several strategic decisions while selecting the squads, ensuring that the best possible players are included, keeping in mind the unique challenges that New Zealand’s team presents.

All eyes will be on the team as they take on New Zealand, with both the players and the fans hoping for a successful outing and a step closer towards the Cricket World Cup 2023. The ODI series commences on 25 March, while the T20I series will begin on 2 April.

Sri Lanka Squads For The T20 And ODI Series

With Dushmantha Chameera being ruled out of the ODI and T20I series following his injury, Sri Lanka have decided to go with Matheesha Pathirana and Pramod Madushan as his replacements across the two different formats.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Sri Lanka squad for the New Zealand ODI series: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wk, vc), Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana

Sri Lanka squad for the New Zealand T20I series: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Wanindu Hasaranga (vc),  Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Chamika Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan

Also Read: IND vs AUS: WATCH – India In Deep Trouble As Shubman Gill Departs As Marnus Labuschagne Completes A Diving Catch

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


NZ vs SL 2023 Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Sri Lanka national cricket team