2008 To 2020: List Of All Orange Cup Winners In IPL

2008 To 2020: List Of All Orange Cup Winners In IPL

David Warner
David Warner ( Credits: IPL)
Prev1 of 13

The Orange Cap in IPL gets for the player, who ends up as the highest run-getter in a single edition. The IPL is a land of opportunities where any batsman gets numerous chances to stamp their authority against the best bowlers worldwide and by thriving in challenging situations before them. The tournament helps the players to put the selectors in the notice.

Over the years, not only Indian players but also overseas players have established their penchant for run-scoring by grabbing the Orange cap. Such players have not only exemplified skill and consistency but also the temperament to win the confidence of the franchise owners. Their form has been crucial to the franchise’s success, making a strong case for their retention year after year.

We take a look at the holders of the Orange Cap from the inaugural to the latest season of IPL:

Shaun Marsh (2008) – 616 runs:

Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Big Bash League 2019-2020
Shaun Marsh. Credit: BCCI

Shaun Marsh became a reasonably recognized name in the cricketing fraternity through his exploits for Kings XI Punjab in the inaugural edition of IPL. Shaun Marsh, who used to open for Kings XI Punjab, racked up 616 runs in 11 games at 68.64 with a strike rate of 139.68.

The Western Australian’s run-scoring spree, which included five fifties and one century, was significant in Kings XI Punjab reaching the semi-finals. All 71 games of the 37-year old came for KXIP only from 2008 to 2017. After that, Marsh faded away and is currently out of the Australian team as well.

Prev1 of 13