Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma
PC: Twitter

Last Update on: March 28th, 2023 at 10:31 pm

According to a report in the Indian Express, Suryakumar Yadav is expected to lead the Mumbai Indians in regular skipper Rohit Sharma’s absence in IPL 2023. The talented middle-order batsman had a stellar IPL season last year, scoring 480 runs in 16 matches with an impressive average of 40.00. Surya is widely considered one of the most promising talents in Indian cricket and has been touted as a future star in the national team.

As the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) season draws closer, Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma has reportedly hinted at sitting out a few games in order to manage his workload effectively with Suryakumar Yadav taking charge in his place.

Also Read: SRH vs RR: “I Am Not Here To Tell Who Should Be Backed” – Ravichandran Ashwin Gives A Strong Response On Sanju Samson’s Absence

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

The Indian batsman is said to be keen on leading the Indian team in both the upcoming World Test Championship final, scheduled to take place at The Oval in London, and the 50-over World Cup, slated for October-November in India. Given his history of injuries, it appears that Rohit is being cautious about pushing himself too hard during the IPL.

Suryakumar Yadav Could Lead Mumbai Indians In Rohit Sharma’s Absence

Although Rohit Sharma is reportedly set to miss a few games, he will still be an integral part of the Mumbai Indians team, travelling with them and offering guidance from the dugout.

The Indian captain has stressed the importance of staying fit and healthy ahead of the packed international schedule. In a recent statement, he underlined the responsibility of the players to maintain their fitness levels for national duty while playing for their respective IPL franchises.

Also Read: IPL 2023: Sandeep Sharma Named Replacement For Prasidh Krishna As Rajasthan Royals Look To Mend Pace Department

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

The Mumbai Indians have been one of the most successful teams in the IPL, having won the trophy a record five times. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, the team have achieved great success in recent years, with the Indian opener leading from the front with his outstanding batting and shrewd captaincy. It remains to be seen how the team will perform in the upcoming season, especially with their captain potentially sitting out a few games.

Also read: IPL 2023: The Uncapped Indians Will Gain, As They Will Get More Opportunities – Aakash Chopra On Introduction Of Impact Player Rule

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah