India vs South Africa 2019: 2nd Test – Match Preview
Mayank Agarwal and Rohit Sharma (Credits - BCCI)

Last Update on: October 3rd, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal did not take any time at all to gel as India’s latest opening pair in Tests. The team-management would be absolutely delighted with the way the two performed in the ongoing first Test against South Africa in Vizag.  In the last couple of years, India have struggled for consistency from their top-order.

The likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay and KL Rahul failed to justify the faith shown in them. Prithvi Shaw showed promise but injury and a positive drug test soon sidelined him. India finally tested Rohit Sharma as opener alongside newcomer Agarwal and the start has been very promising.

Both the openers scored century and shared a mammoth stand of 317 runs before Rohit departed for a well-made 176. Rohit reached his ton on day one while Agarwal reached the triple-digit mark in the first session of day two. Keshav Maharaj gave South Africa the much-needed breakthrough when he had Rohit stumped after the latter played his career-best knock.

Also Read: Watch: Team India Gives Mayank Agarwal Standing Ovation After His Century

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Credits: BCCI)

The 300-plus partnership, meanwhile, has put Rohit and Agarwal in an elite list. The duo became just the third opening pair from India to share a partnership of 300 runs or more. Former batsmen Vinoo Mankad and Pankaj Roy hold the record for their mammoth 413-run stand against New Zealand in 1956.

Read More  India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

Rahul Dravid and Virender Sehwag are second in the list for their 410-run stand against Pakistan in 2006. Rohit and Mayank are third in the list for their 317-run stand. No other opening pair has managed to touch or cross the 300-run mark. The all-time record is held by former South African pair Neil McKenzie and Graeme Smith. The former openers had shared a 415-run stand against Bangladesh in 2008.

Here is a list showing the highest opening stand for India in Tests:

Partners Runs Opposition
MH Mankad, P Roy 413 v New Zealand
R Dravid, V Sehwag 410 v Pakistan
MA Agarwal, RG Sharma 317 v South Africa
S Dhawan, M Vijay 289 v Australia
S Dhawan, M Vijay 283 v Bangladesh
G Gambhir, V Sehwag 233 v Sri Lanka
V Sehwag, M Vijay 221 v Sri Lanka
G Gambhir, V Sehwag 218 v South Africa
CPS Chauhan, SM Gavaskar 213 v England
W Jaffer, V Sehwag 213 v South Africa