Six Players Who Quit Captaincy Mid-Way Through The IPL Season

Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik [Photo-BCCI]

There is a reason why the IPL [Indian Premier League] is considered to be the best franchise-based tournament in the world. Apart from the financial riches, the IPL is one of the most competitive leagues in the world, with the best locking horns against the best.

Such is the competitive nature of the tournament that even the best players sometimes find it difficult to match the level of expectations with their performances. And, we have seen on a plethora of instances in the past where high-profile cricketers, when faced with difficulties as both batsmen as well as a captain- have proceeded to drop themselves mid-way through the season to make way for other talents.

Here’s a look at six players who quit captaincy mid-way through the IPL season:

Kumar Sangakkara – Deccan Chargers, 2012

Kumar Sangakkara [Photo-IPL]
Fast forward to the 2012 season of the IPL, and Deccan Chargers were in midst of another forgettable season, and once again the indifferent form of their captain was the point of discussion among the folklore.

With just 200 runs in 12 league-stage games at an average of 18, skipper Kumar Sangakkara was in the midst of a rare bad season with the bat and with his performances mirroring his teams’ exploits- 5 defeats in 7 games- the former Sri Lankan captain decided to quit the leadership duties, paving way for the Australian all-rounder Cameron White to take over the reins.

But White wasn’t able to emulate the exploits of Adam Gilchrist as Deccan Chargers finished the season at the 8th spot [4 wins in 16 games].

Related Posts