South Africa Calls Up Olivier, Ngidi For Second Test Match Against India - CricketAddictor

South Africa Calls Up Olivier, Ngidi For Second Test Match Against India

South Africa has called up fast bowling duo Duanne Olivier and Lungi Ngidi for the second test match against India.

The duo were picked in the pace of premier pace bowler Dale Steyn who picked up a heel injury on his return to international cricket. The 34-year old is completely ruled out of the test series as he will need a break for a month or so to completely heal from his latest setback.

Coach Ottis Gibson has left his condolences for Steyn but has expressed his ecitement to work with young Ngidi in the national team.

“We had to replace Dale. I felt really sorry for him because he had done a lot of work to get back to where he was,” South Africa coach Ottis Gibson said.
“I’ve heard a lot of good things about him. I’ve seen him on TV but when I was at the Titans he wasn’t playing. When we get to Pretoria for our preparation days he will be with us, and then we’ll have a look at conditions and make a decision which XI will take the field,” he said of Ngidi.

Duanne Olivier has so far played five tests for South Africa last year while Lungi Ngidi is yet to make his debut in the longest format of the game. The 21-year old has made his debut against Sri Lanka in the shortest format but he is yet to don the colors in 50-over format and whites of Proteas.

The hosts are set to play two more tests against India and then a four match test series against Australia and the board are hopeful that the youngster could step up to the occasion and deliver.

Although losing Dale Steyn is a body blow for South Africa, they still have three world class pacers in Vernon Philander, Morne Morkel and Kagiso Rabada. Now with the addition two exciting young bowlers, the hosts can look to continue their four man pace bowling unit in the coming test matches against India.

South Africa Squad for second Test: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wk), AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.