Suresh Raina Kuldeep Yadav Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 |

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: Suresh Raina To Lead UP; Kuldeep Yadav Included

Suresh Raina will lead Uttar Pradesh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018. Apart from Raina, Kuldeep Yadav and Praveen Kumar are other international players in the side.

First talking of Raina, he was expected to lead the side despite his recent poor form. It’s an opportunity for Raina to score well and be in contention for selection in the Indian team. He has already cleared the yo-yo test and is just a step away from making a comeback in limited overs format.

Should he score well, he could find a place on the list of players flying to South Africa for T20I series.

Coming to Kuldeep, the T20 matches which he will play will provide him with practice ahead of the international fixtures. Kuldeep hasn’t played any form of cricket since the end of T20I series against Sri Lanka and would want to get some practice before ODI series. He is expected to be retained in the side for T20I series as well.

Praveen Kumar though is not in contention to be selected in the national side, but he can get a buyer for himself in the IPL auction if he does well in the T20 tournament. He played for Gujarat Lions in the previous IPL season.

IPL 2018, Player Retention, Royal Challengers, IPL 11, Virat Kohli, Sarfraz Khan, AB de Villiers
Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI.

Sarfaraz Khan, who was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore, has not been included in the side, which shows that he is yet to recover from the injury. Sarfaraz might make a comeback for the Vijay Hazare Trophy that follows the T20 tournament.

Eklavya Dwivedi, Akshdeep Nath, Ankit Rajpoot are few other players in the side. Rajpoot has been included after he returned from South Africa. He was a part of net bowler’s contingent that travelled to South Africa with the Indian cricket team. All other bowlers have also returned to the country to take part in domestic cricket.

Squad: Suresh Raina (Captain), Abhishek Goswami, Akshdeep Nath, Amit Mishra, Shivam Chaudhary, Eklavya Dwivedi, Sarul Kanwar, Salman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Kumar, Mohsin
Khan, Ankit Rajpoot, Samarth Singh, Saurabh Kumar, Umang Sharma, Rinku Singh. 

News Feeds –

Pradeep Sangwan replaces Rishabh Pant as Delhi captain

Manoj Tiwary to lead Bengal in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Aditya Tare to lead Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018

Follow Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here –