Ten Legendary Cricketers Who Didn't Receive A Proper Farewell

Ten Legendary Cricketers Who Didn’t Receive A Proper Farewell

Yuvraj Singh, 2019 World Cup, World Cup
Yuvraj Singh (Credits - BCCI)
Prev1 of 10

The road for amateur cricketers to becoming legends is undeniably a long one and takes several years. Whether as a batsman or bowler, a cricketer can only be referred to as a legend, who has contributed heavily to several victories. Also preferably, one of the top run-getters or wicket-takers, having played a significant role in an ICC title win. Inevitably, all such cricketers reach a specific age when their abilities start taking a hit.

Also Read: 5 Famous Cricketers Who Went Back To Domestic Cricket To Regain Their Form

And that is when the runs from their bat start drying, or wickets become challenging to come by. In such circumstances, the selectors have to take a tough call of dropping them. Nevertheless, such players having contributed aplenty and given their years deserve a farewell game. Unfortunately, they don’t and announce their retirement without it.

We take a look at ten legendary cricketers who were let go without handing them a farewell match:

Mohammad Yousuf:

Mohammad Yousuf | Australia vs India 2018-19 |
Mohammad Yousuf. Credit: Getty Images

Few men boasted of such elegance and style as Mohammad Yousuf. One of the mainstays of Pakistan middle-order for a long time, Yousuf was a prolific run-getter and arguably one of the legends of the game. Yousuf holds the record of scoring the highest number of Test runs in a calendar year when he racked up 1788 runs in 2006. After Pakistan’s winless tour of Australia in 2009-10, the 45-year old, who was the captain, faced an indefinite ban by the PCB.

It resulted in announcing his retirement for that time being; however, the right-handed batsman returned for the England tour in 2010. His final innings for the national team arrived in November 2010 in an ODI against South Africa. Mohammad Yousuf announced his intention to return to internationals in April 2012 but was never picked for Pakistan again.

Also Read: Top 5 Youngest Cricketers To Lead India In ODIs

Prev1 of 10