Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka. (Credits: Twitter)

Sri Lanka have announced their T20I squad for the upcoming series against West Indies at home. The Islanders have recalled allrounder Thisara Perera who was not a part of the squad that lost the series in India last month. Along with Perera, fast-bowler Nuwan Pradeep and spin-bowling allrounder Shehan Jayasuriya have also earned recalls.

But batsmen Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando could not find a spot in the squad. Both the players had impressed against Pakistan last year. On the other hand, opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka is also not a part of the squad due to a thigh injury.

Thisara Perera’s last T20I appearance came way back in March last year. He was dropped from the team for poor performance and earned the recall after almost a year. The hard-hitting batsman recently impressed in the ongoing ODI series against West Indies.

Thisara Perera
Thisara Perera (Credits: Twitter)

Apart from him, Sri Lanka also have the likes of Angelo Mathews and Dasun Shanaka to choose as fast-bowling allrounders. In the bowling department, the Islanders have opted for the experience of Nuwan Pradeep over Kasun Rajitha as the latter has been dropped.

Captain Lasith Malinga, Lahiru Kumara and Isuru Udana complete the pace-bowling department. Wanindu Hasaranga and Lakshan Sandakan form the spin department. The T20I series starts on March 4 in Pallekele. The hosts have already sealed the three-match ODI series with a match to go and will be eyeing the T20I series too.

Sri Lanka squad:

Lasith Malinga (capt.), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru

Also Read: 5 Batsmen Who Can Break AB de Villiers’ Record Of Fastest ODI Century

Also Read: New Zealand vs India 2020: 2nd Test, Christchurch – Match Preview, Pitch Report, Weather Forecast