In the ongoing Tamil Nadu Premier League’s (TNPL 2018) third edition, Lyca Kovai Kings kept their playoff hopes alive as they defeated Siechem Madurai Panthers in a must-win game by eight wickets. In the meantime, Kings ended Panthers’ five-match winning streak.

Despite the loss, Madurai Panthers maintained the second position in the points table. On the other side, Net Run-rate boosts the chances for Kings as they stand in fourth place on the table.

TNPL 2018, Shahrukh Khan
Shahrukh Khan – Equitas Bank Fantastic player of the match! Image Source TNPL Facebook

The Kovai Kings after winning the toss decided to ball first on a dry surface. It proved a right decision from the side as bowlers struck with regular intervals followed by a splendid performance in the fielding.

A summary of the match:

Madurai Panthers lost their top three batsmen inside their powerplay overs. The opening batsman, Arun Karthik lost wicket on his score of a solitary run followed by the skipper D Rohit, who scored four runs off eight balls.

Things worsened for Panthers as Thalaivan Sargunam due to a misjudged call lost his wicket. Apart from R Karthikeyan in the middle with 13 off 14 and J Kousik with 32 off 28, everyone failed to deliver for Panthers.

TNPL 2018
TNPL 2018: The winning snap of Lyca Kovai Kings. Image Source TNPL Facebook

However, the number ten batsman of Panthers, Varun Chakravathi scored a handy knock of 20 off 15 – to help his team to attain a total of 103.

TNPL 2018: How Lyca Kovai Kings chased down the target against Madurai Panthers?

Kovai Kings got off to a flier. They put 27 runs on the board at the completion of fourth over. All the batsmen who came to bat from them managed to enter into double figures.

The wicketkeeper-batsman of Kings was the top scorer as he achieved figures of 34 off 37.

The skipper of Kovai Kings, Abhinav Mukund, scored 12 off 14 before handing over a simple return catch to Rahil Shah.

However, Shahrukh Khan played a knock of 29 off 24 whereas Ashwin Venkataraman scored an unbeaten knock of 28 off 29 to seal the deal for Kovai Kings with 16 balls to spare.