Multan Sultans defeated Peshwar Zalmi in the opening cash of the Pakistan Super League by 7 wickets. It was a brilliant innings from former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara and Shoaib Malik which laid the foundation for a brilliant chase from the Multan Sultans.

The skipper of the Multan Sultans, Shoaib Malik won the toss and put the Peshawar Zalmis in. It was Mohammad Irfan who provided Sultans with the initial breakthrough in the form of Kamran Akmal. His partner Tamim Iqbal was also dismissed early as Peshawar was reduced to 22/2. Mohammad Hafeez scored a fluent half-century while Dwayne Smith contributed with 24.

In the end, it was the whirlwind knock from the Darren Sammy which eventually propelled Zalmi over the 150 mark. Sammy remained unbeaten on 29 of just 11 deliveries which contained 2 fours and 3 sixes. It was not a match-winning total under any stress of imagination but it was a competitive one.

Just like Peshawar, Multan lost their opening wicket pretty cheaply. It was Wahab Riaz who removed Ahmed Shehzad with a brilliant delivery. However, it was Kumar Sangakkara who kept the scoreboard ticking with the occasional boundaries. He kept taking the singles and the doubles and never allowed the game to drift from Multan.

Sohaib Maqsood scored a quickfire 21 of 16 deliveries which included 3 fours and a six. However, it was the innings of the skipper Shoaib Malik which eventually helped Multan coast to the victory target. Maliik remained unbeaten on 42 of 30 deliveries while Kieron Pollard was the other unbeaten batsmen on 21. While Malik struck a couple of fours and sixes each, Pollard’s innings contained 4 hits to the fence.

Twitterati was pretty active during the game. Here are some of the tweets from the game

Arya chakraborty

A Cricket Expert who loves revolving his life around the game. An extremely passionate music lover who loves singing and listening to Arijit Singh songs.