Indian Women's Cricket Team
Indian Women's Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: April 26th, 2023 at 05:47 pm

Harmanpreet Kaur-led India Women’s National Cricket Team thrashed Chamari Athapaththu-led Sri Lanka Women’s National Cricket Team by 8 wickets with 69 balls remaining to win the Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022 at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, on Saturday, October 15.

The Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022, which was the eighth edition of the Women’s Asia Cup tournament, took place from October 1 to October 15 in Sylhet, Bangladesh.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Harmanpreet Kaur and Chamari Athapattu

India and Pakistan finished as the top-2 teams on the points table after the group stage matches. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led side defeated Thailand Women’s National Cricket Team by 74 runs to qualify for the final of the multi-nation tournament.

On the other hand, the Sri Lanka Women’s National Cricket Team defeated Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team by 1-run to make it to the final of the marquee tournament.

India Restricted Sri Lanka To 65/9 In The Final

Renuka Singh. PC- CWG
Renuka Singh. PC- CWG

Sri Lanka Women’s National Cricket Team won the toss and opted to bat first in the match. The decision turned out to be a horrible one for the side as they were restricted to 65/9.

India’s Renuka Singh bowled an exceptional spell and she had bowling figures of 3-1-5-3. Also, Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gayakwad bowled brilliantly and bagged 2 wickets each.

Chasing the mediocre target, star opener Smriti Mandhana provided her side with a terrific star. India lost quick wickets of Shafali Verma and Jemimah Rodrigues in the 4th and 5th over respectively.

Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur. (Photo: Twitter)

However, Smriti Mandhana kept batting exceptionally and smashed brilliant 51* runs off 25 balls, including 6 fours and 3 sixes. Also, skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, who is the most capped T20I player in Women’s cricket, chipped in with a decent 11 runs contribution to help India claim a dominant win.

With the win over Sri Lanka, India Women’s National Cricket Team continued their dominance in the Asian tournament and won their 7th Asia Cup title in 8 editions.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India Women’s National Cricket Team Winning Asia Cup 2022:


Also Read: IND vs PAK: “We Have Got To Be Brave” – Rohit Sharma Hopeful Of Joining MS Dhoni As India Captain To Win T20 World Cup


Sonanchal GautamAssistant Content Manager

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.