Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Gautam Gambhir has made his comeback to the Delhi squad for the knockout stage of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

The left-handed batsman missed the league stage round due to an ankle injury.

Gautam Gambhir, Delhi, Ranji Trophy 2017-18, Final, Team India,
Gautam Gambhir has made his comeback for the knockouts. Photo Credit: AFP.

The reports had suggested that he was yet to give an update to the state association regarding his injury.

It seems like he communicated to selectors that he was available for selection.

His comeback will leave skipper Ishant Sharma in selection tizzy.

Openers, Unmukt Chand and Hiten Dalal did well during the league stage round.

Manjot Kalra, the star for India U19 during the final, has been kept on standby.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18: Gautam Gambhir Back, Manjot Kalra On Standby For Knockouts
Manjot Kalra is on the standby list. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

He was in contention to be selected for the knockouts but Gambhir’s comeback meant that he was kept on standby.

If he is not called in the team for any game, then his debut in senior cricket would be delayed until next season.

Apart from these two, there are a couple of changes in the side.

Himmat Singh and Harsh Tyagi have also been called to the side for the knockout phase.

Himmat was one of the five players on the standby list announced before the start of the tournament.

Delhi will face Andhra Pradesh in the quarterfinal contest on February 22 at Palam A ground.

The team could only qualify for the next round after Bengal defeated Himachal Pradesh in their last league stage.

Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary scored a century to lead Bengal to win. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Bengal were already out of the race to the next stage.

On the other hand, it was an eventual pre-quarterfinal for Himachal Pradesh but they lost the game, thus opening the doors for Delhi.

Maharashtra is the other team from Group B to qualify for the knockout round.

On the day 1 of quarterfinal stage, Hyderabad will face Karnataka at Kotla while Mumbai will face Maharashtra at Palam A ground.

On the second day, apart from Delhi-Andhra Pradesh game, Saurashtra and Baroda will face each other at Kotla.

The two semi-finals and the final will be played on February 24, 25 and 27, respectively, at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

Delhi Squad: Ishant Sharma (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Rishabh Pant, Nitish Rana, Hiten Dalal, Dhruv Shorey, Lalit Yadav, Kulwant Khejroliya, Pradeep Sangwan, Navdeep Saini, Pawan Negi, Harsh Tyagi, Himmat Singh, Milind Kumar. Stand by: Manjot Kalra

Follow Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 here –

Video of the day –