Virat Kohli-AB de Villiers Become 1st IPL Pair To Record 10 Century Stands

Virat Kohli-AB de Villiers Become 1st IPL Pair To Record 10 Century Stands

IPL, DC, RCB, Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers [Photo-Twitter]

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have been the flag bearer of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) batting line-up over the years. The lethal pair, considered as the Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi of cricket, have often forged match-winning stands for RCB with the latest coming against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on Monday.

Opting to bat, Aaron Finch and Devdut Padikkal got RCB to a good 67-run stand before the latter was sent packing for 32 runs. Finch played his part quite well but dismissed three-short of his half-century. Later, Kohli and de Villiers took matters to their own hands and helped RCB register a challenging total of 194 runs.

Virat Kohli, Ab de Villiers
Virat Kohli, Ab de Villiers (Credits: Times of India)

De Villiers was the aggressor between the two as they forged a century stand. He was unbeaten on 73 runs off 33 deliveries laced with five boundaries and six hits over the fence while captain Kohli scored 33 runs off 28 balls with one four to his name. The partnership not only helped RCB clinch a comprehensive victory but also helped them enter record books.

Virat Kohli-AB de Villiers enter record books 

The pair of Kohli and De Villiers became the first in IPL to register 10 century stands. Their century stand came off 46 deliveries as RCB took away the game from KKR. Incidentally, Kohli and Chris Gayle are second in the list of most century stand in IPL with nine century stands between them.

AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli, IPL 2020, RCB, Banter
AB de Villiers with Virat Kohli (Credits – Twitter)

While Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner, while playing for SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH), had stitched together six century stands. The pair of Jonny Bairstow and David Warner have more than five century partnership between them.

RCB have got to a good start in the IPL 2020 and are in contention to qualify for the playoffs. The Bangalore franchise have the record of reaching three finals. RCB entered the final match last time in 2016 but since then they have been at the bottom of the table. Moreover, in 2019, the franchise  finished last with just 5 wins from 14 matches.