Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli, New Zealand vs India 2019
Virat Kohli (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

India skipper, Virat Kohli, is running for the ODI player of the year award. Kohli scored a total of 1460 runs in 26 matches at an average of 76.84 in 2017.

The year saw Kohli making his debut as full-time captain in limited overs format, but this did not have an impact on his performance.

In 2017, Kohli scored six centuries and seven half-centuries and emerged as highest run-scorer during the year. On captaincy front as well, Kohli did well and led the side to the final of ICC Champions Trophy in the first attempt as the captain. Also, the team whitewashed Sri Lanka in ODI series and also in Tests. In fact, India won all the nine games during India tour of Sri Lanka in July/September.

Along with Kohli, Joe Root, Rashid Khan, and Hasan Ali are also running for the award.

Virat Kohli Running For ICC ODI Cricketer Of The Year Award

Root scored a total of 983 runs in 2017 at an average of 70.21 in 19 matches. He also scored two centuries and seven half-centuries.

Rashid Khan, who is still eligible to play U19 World Cup, was the second highest wicket-taker in 2017. He scalped 43 wickets in 16 games.

The last nominee on the list is Hasan Ali, probably the find of the year for Pakistan. He scalped 45 wickets in 18 games and emerged out as highest wicket-taker during the year.

Ben Laughlin, BBL 07, Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Thunder, Rashid Khan, Arun Nair, Peter Siddle,
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

All the four nominees on the list are heavyweights but looking at the impact, Rashid Khan might edge out everyone in the list. He is still a teenager but has moved ahead leaps and bounds in his career. He might emerge out as the winner.

Last year, Quinton de Kock emerged out as the winner. It was the second successive time when a South African player won the award as it was AB de Villiers who won the ICC ODI Player of the year award 2015.

ICC will announce the winner of the ICC men’s awards tomorrow (January 18).

Follow Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here.

Video of the day –