Chris Gayle Windies Bangladesh

The premium fast bowler from Windies, Fidel Edwards named his all-time XI.  He picked few interesting names in his side that has a calibre of dealing with any kind of opposition in the world.

In total, he named five windies players in his all-time XI, three Australians and one each from India, Pakistan and South Africa. However, he has reasons for picking more players from Windies and Australia.

Gayle, Hayden to open, Sachin, Lara at three and four:

For the opening slot, he went with the most destructive batsman in the game of cricket, Christopher Henry Gayle. The brute force will be accompanied by Australia’s lynchpin across the formats, Matthew Hayden.

Chris Gayle
Fidel Edwards introduces Chris Gayle in his all-time XI. (Picture Source – Cricket Australia)

But Edwards handed the crucial number three position to India’s legendary player, Sachin Tendulkar without sparing a thought. He was followed by the Windies’ all-time great Brian Lara. Edwards termed Lara as the best batsman in the world for him.

The raw-paced bowler included Sir Garfield Sobers in the middle-order department to strengthen the side. Coming to number six position, Fidel introduced South Africa’s all-time legendary, Jacques Kallis to hand his services.

In addition, handing the wicketkeeper duty and the most important captaincy, Edwards named Australia’s Adam Gilchrist to take the role.

Interestingly, played under Gilchrist during his Indian Premier League (IPL) days and termed him the best skipper of all whom he played under.

One Spinner and three lethal fast bowlers:

Wasim Akram. Credits: PA Photos.

Windies Fidel Edwards picked only one spinner in his all-time list. He asked Australia’s Shane Warne to fill the slot. Naming Warne, Fidel stated that ”Shane Warne is the best Leg-break bowler cricket has ever seen.”

Moreover, Coming to the fast bowling department, Edwards named Pakistan’s Wasim Akram alongside Windies duo Curtly Ambrose and Malcolm Marshall.

Adding the last two pacers, Edwards said that ”Ambrose is one of the best fast bowlers while Malcolm Marshall has the ability to bat as well.”

Also, here is his all-time XI:

Chris Gayle, Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Sir Garfield Sobers, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist (c/wk), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Malcolm Marshall

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!