MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

We are just a few days away from the end of a remarkable decade of cricket. The last ten years have witnessed a tremendous change in the game of cricket and the rise of various nations in world cricket. The batsmen have become more dangerous while the bowlers enhanced their skills smartly. The game walked towards professionalism and entertained fans with three 50-over World Cups. Besides ICC events, the game of cricket also witnessed various franchise tournaments as well.

Despite all such innovations, the charisma of ODI cricket remains the same across the globe. The fans are still watching the ODI format with a lot of enthusiasm by visiting the stadiums consistently. We came across quite a few sensational performances with the bat and the ball in the last decade, which kept fans on the edge of their seats. Regarding the same, the Wisden has announced Men’s ODI Team Of The Decade.

Rohit Sharma,MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, ODI Team Of The Decade
Rohit Sharma. Credit: Getty Images

Opener – Rohit Sharma, David Warner:

The right-handed opening batsman of India, Rohit Sharma finds a spot in the ODI team of the decade. It has been a great decade for him. Ever since MS Dhoni promoted him up in the order, he became a phenomenon for India. He scored 8186 runs in 179 ODI games. He paired up with David Warner in the chart, who also had a fantastic year with 4884 runs in 109 ODI matches.

At number 3, they got a natural choice in the name of Virat Kohli, who ruled the World Cricket in the last ten years. He scored 11040 runs in 226 ODI matches at an incredible average of 60.65. Following Virat Kohli, it is AB de Villiers, who found a place in the chart with 6485 runs in 135 ODIs.

Read More  AFG vs IRE Head to Head Records in Tests- Only Test, 2024
Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan. Credit: Getty Images

Then comes the surprise name in the chart with Jos Buttler breaking into the Wisden’s Men’s ODI team of the decade. The right-handed batsman revolutionised English batting with his class-yet-hard-hitting. He scored 3843 runs in 142 ODI matches. And, yet another obvious choice for the experts is MS Dhoni. He is one of those players, who carry the game on his shoulders.

He scored 5640 runs in 190 ODI matches alongside 170 catches and 72 stumpings. Shakib Al Hasan owned the all-rounder slot in the last ten years. He became a force in the ODI format by performing consistently. Shakib scored 4276 runs and picked 177 wickets.

Lasith Malinga, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Wisden Men's ODI Team Of The Decade
Lasith Malinga. AFP

Coming to the fast-bowling department, they named Lasith Malinga, Trent Boult alongside Mitchell Starc and Dale Steyn. All the four bowlers have been extra-ordinary for their respective teams in the last decade. Malinga picked 248 wickets in 162 ODIs, Mitchell Starc picked 172 wickets in 85 ODIs while Trent Boult picked 164 wickets in 89 ODIs. South Africa’s sensation Dale Steyn bagged 145 wickets in 90 ODI games.

Men’s ODI Team Of The Decade:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni, Shakib Al Hasan, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Dale Steyn

Read More  'Captain Virat Kohli added real competitiveness and toughness to Team India' - Alastair Cook

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!